On the new stand........The 2014 Louisiana Angus Directory!

It could be our best Directory yet!

A special "Thank You" to all of our advertisers!

If you would like a Directory, please email Dale Schexnayder at sche278@bellsouth.net.

Thank you for your interest in the Louisiana Angus Association!

Louisiana State Fair, Shreveport

Junior Meeting — Wednesday, October 22, 2014 @ 3:00pm.
Look for signs and listen for announcements for location of meeting.

Showmanship at State Fair — October 22, 2014 @ 6:00pm — youngest to oldest
dues must be current and can be paid at Junior Meeting.

Angus Show at State Fair — Jr. Show October 23, 2014 @ 9:00pm
Open Show October 23, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Junior Update:

Louisiana was well represented by our junior members at NJAS in Indianapolis, IN.


1st in the scrapbook competition (congrats to our historian Faith Guice)

3rd place in herdsmanship competition.
Daniel McFarland placed an honorable mention in the showmanship competition.

Lily Gisclair placed 1st in the Junior Division of Prepared Public Speaking.

Payton Shepherd placed 2nd in the Junior Division — Breed/Association Promotion Poster Contest.

Olivia Shepherd placed 1st in the Membership Recruitment Category Poster Contest.

Daniel McFarland and Stephanie Hymel earned their Gold Degrees.

LA Juniors were successful in teh show ring too. Please refer to the AAA Website under show ring results for details.

Our juniors were featured by the local press for their contributions to the food bank in Indianapolis. Isaac McFarland headed up this project for our juniors to donate and organize tackle boxes of food for local children in need.

Juniors also competed in the Team Fitting Contest, Cattle Judging Contest, and Extemporaneous Speaking Contest.

We are SO PROUD of all the juniors in attendance — Andrew Graves, Miranda Graves, Taryn Shaw, Morgan Fruge, Lani LeBeouf, Kara LeBeouf, Payton Shepherd, Olivia Shepherd, Lily Gisclair, Luke Gisclair, Cheyenne Jones, Daniel McFarland, Isaac McFarland, Katelyn Corsentino.

From the President:

Welcome to Fall in Louisiana. We had another good summer, and most of us avoided the major summer drought we typically face each year. Predictions are for a cold winter, so prepare accordingly.

Please be on the lookout for nomination forms for the BULL SALE on January 24, 2015 and FEMALE SALE on March 14, 2015. With prices where they are, now is the time to put your best animals forward.

The American Angus Association National Convention and Trade show is coming up on November 4-6, 2014 in Kansas City, MO. This should be a well attended meeting to determine the future direction of our breed. We expect to have all of Louisiana’s votes counted this year. I will be in attendance and will provide a detailed report back to our membership.

Congrats to our elected Delegates. I look forward to seeing you in Kansas City. Feel free to contact me any time with concerns or questions.

Lee Robbins

ATTENTION: High School Seniors
Please contact Patti Hymel for Scholarship Applications.


“Something’s Always Cookin’ with LJAA”

Cookbooks are now on sale! $10 each.

Contact Patti Hymel or Bridget Gisclair.

Cookbooks will also be on sale at all LA Angus events.


In November 1960, a group of Louisiana businessmen joined together with a common interest to form the Louisiana Angus Association. The purpose of this organization is to encourage and extend the influence of Angus cattle; to educate, promote and encourage the breeding and development of better and higher quality Angus cattle; and to promote the interest of membership by creating better trade and sale opportunities.

Louisiana Angus Association Officers and Board Members

Louisiana Angus Association Board
These men and women were elected to serve on the Louisiana Angus Association board of directors and are pictured at the 2014 Louisiana Angus Association Annual Meeting and Banquet, March 7 in Lecompte, LA. Pictured seated front row from left are Lee Robbins, Dubach, President; Lana Myers, Jennings, Vice President; Ray Gendron, Baton Rouge, Secretary; and Dale Schexnayder, Port Allen, Treasurer. Directors standing back row from left are Drew Hall, Ethel; Dave Means III, Gloster; Warren Bryan, Ruston; Greg Tate, Ville Platte; Edward Hymel, Vacherie; David Billingsley, Keithville; Kevin Windham, Jena; and Chuck Evans, Cut Off. Photo by Richard Dyar.

2014 LLA Officers

President: Lee Robbins

Vice President: Lana Myers

Secretary: Ray Gendron

Treasurer: Dale Schexnayder

Board Members Terms 2012-2015

Ray Gendron
Chris Roussel
Gary Greene
David Billingsley
Kevin Windham

Board Members Terms 2013-2016

Drew Hall
Dave Means
Warren Bryan
Greg Tate
Eddie Hymel

Board Members Terms 2014-2017

Dale Schexnayder
Lee Robbins
Chuck Evens
Enyart Mitchell
Lana Myers

The Gisclair Family
2013 Family of the Year
The Gisclair family, Flying G Ranch, Longville, was named Family of the Year. Pictured from left are Cheyenne Jones, Louisiana Angus Association Queen; Lee Robbins, Louisiana Angus Association President, presenting; Luke, Bridgett, Corey, and Lily Gisclair; and Olivia Shepherd, Louisiana Angus Association Princess.

David Billingsley, Breeder OTY
2013 Breeder of the Year
David Billingsley, Keithville, LA, was awarded Breeder of the Year, Pictured from left are Cheyenne Jones, Louisiana Angus Association Queen; David Billingsley, Recipient; Lee Robbins, Louisiana Angus Association President, presenting; and Olivia Shepherd, Louisiana Angus Association Princess.