Louisiana Junior Angus Association

Welcome! See your officers and directors below, learn a little more about the history of the Junior Association, or skip down to our Junior Members List.

Louisiana Junior Angus Association Board

History of the Louisiana Junior Angus Association

The Louisiana Angus Association board of directors approved sponsorship of a junior association on January 13, 1964. The Louisiana Junior Angus Association was organized on June 6, 1964, when the juniors were invited to attend and participate in the annual field day, which in 1964 was held at the Dr. A.V. Young farm in Grand Cane, Louisiana.

The following officers were elected to serve the first year: Lee Walker, Lake Charles, president; Chris Loupe, Zwolle, 1st vice president; Carolyn Hunter, Dubach, 2nd vice president; Beverly Means, Gloster, secretary; Gerald L. Woods, treasurer; and Debbie Hays, Ruston, reporter. The advisor was Dr. L. H. Pease, Lafayette.

In 1965 the juniors held four field days, each in a different part of the state, so that new members could be recruited. These were held at Baton Rouge, Elton, Ruston, and Providence. As the association grew, one annual field day was held in co-sponsorship with the adult association. The annual field day is held in June and rotates to a different part of the state each year. The field day and junior heifer show are combined.

In 1967, Jimmie Lee Fontenot, Vinton, and Diane Powell, Coushatta, were selected to represent Louisiana for the first time in the National Angus Showmanship contest. The first Louisiana Angus Queen, Mary Myers, Jennings, was crowned in 1972 during the field day in Ruston. In 1977 a major Angus show was brought to the deep South when the Louisiana juniors co-hosted the South Central Regional Heifer Show in Shreveport. Mark Wyble, Opelousas, was elected to serve on the first National Junior Angus Board in 1980. In 1982 the Louisiana Junior Angus advisors, Mr. and Mrs. Paul St. Blanc, Charenton, were named "Junior Angus Advisors of the Year" during the national show in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Also in 1982, the Louisiana Junior Angus Association hosted the Dixie Junior Angus Leadership Conference in Monroe, Louisiana. In 1986, Caliste and Sandy Rougeau became Junior Advisors, and through their efforts the LJAA 25th year celebration at the 1989 Regional Preview Show in Shreveport was a huge success.

Harriett and Carroll Boudreaux took over as advisors in 1995. They were responsible for an excellent Regional Preview Show in 1998 and many national winners. In 2000, Leslie and Brian Kennedy took over as Junior Advisors, and were responsible for continued growth and success of the organization.

In 2001, Lana Myers was elected as the first of three consecutive NJAA Board of Directors from Louisiana and was Vice Chairman. Jennifer Ourso served her term on the NJAA Board as Chairman from 2003-2005. Kristen Oaks followed her as a NJAA Director from 2005-2007 as communications director.

Eddie and Patti Hymel were selected as Junior Advisors in 2003, and continued to serve in that capacity until 2014. Membership and participation thrived under their direction. Patti was the chairman for the 2011 Eastern Regional Junior Show in West Monroe. Through their guidance, the junior association has remained strong and an integral part of the Angus breed in Louisiana. �The National Junior Angus Association recognized Eddie and Patti with the Advisors of the Year award at the 2012 NJAS in Louisville, KY. �The Hymels co-advised with Bridgett and Corey Gisclair in 2013 and resigned in 2014, at which time the Bridgett and Corey Gisclair continued to lead the juniors until June 2015 when Lana Myers was named Advisor.

2022 LJAA Officers

2022 LJAA Directors

Kurt and Angie LeBeouf

Mark and Jodie LeJeune

Lily Williams

1st Vice President
Austin Johnson

Wyatt LeJeune

Emma LeJeune

Shadow Historian
Amalie Mabile

Ben LaRavia

Christian Corsentino

Wyatt LeJeune
Olivia Shirley

Liam Thiels
Austin Johnson

South Central
Ben Forbes
Rory Forbes
Wyatt Olsen

Grant de la Houssaye
Trey de la Houssaye


2022 Queen
Jacey LeJeune

2022 Princess
Camryn Greene

Showmanship Contestants:
Selected at Field day

Junior Membership


Welcome to our updated junior members directory!
All members are sorted by their last names. Please choose a letter to view current members.