

Angus enthusiasts tee-up for the eighth annual golf tournament.

Story & photos by Kelli Armbruster

Sunshine and little bit of wind kept things interesting for the 73 players who took to the greens July 15 to support the Angus Foundation. A record number of golfers participated in the Angus Foundation's 8th Annual Golf Tournament, hosted by The Legacy Golf Club, Norwalk, Iowa, in conjunction with the 2008 National Junior Angus Show (NJAS).

"With a new record of 73 players, this year's golf tournament was another successful fundraiser for the Angus Foundation," Foundation President Milford Jenkins says.

Old and young golfers alike were challenged by the scenic course and were happy to return to the clubhouse to enjoy a *Certified Angus Beef*® (CAB®) steak lunch at the awards ceremony, compliments of Freedman Meats of Houston, Texas.

The winners of Flight A, representing Iowa, included players Jerry Carrico, Redfield; Jean Burch, Runnels; and Josh Barnes and Troy Tickner, both of Adel. Winners of Flight B included Scott Bush, Britton, S.D.; Dick Rogen, Brandon, S.D.; Chris Styles, Brentford, S.D.; and Jeff Creamer, Montrose, Colo. Winners of Flight C included Carole Silveira, Firebaugh, Calif.; Calvin Levisay, Creston, Calif.; Jon Malmborg, Bowling Green, Ky.; and Kyle Kemp, Bridgeport, Texas.

"We're very appreciative of the players and sponsors who help make this event possible for the Angus Foundation and who allow us to advance our education, youth and research activities for the betterment of the entire Angus breed," Jenkins says, "We invite others to share in this fun activity with us in Perry, Georgia, in 2009."

Event sponsor

Opperman Cattle Co., Sandy, Ore.

Clubhouse sponsors

Greenacres Farm, Cinncinati, Ohio Werner Angus, Cordova, Ill.

Hole-in-one sponsor

The Hill Family: Paul, Lynn, Sarah and Neenah, Bidwell, Ohio

Gift sponsor*

Belle Point Ranch, Lavaca, Ark.

Tee box sponsors

American Angus Ass'n Regional Managers

CAB® steak sponsor

Freedman Meats, Houston, Texas

Hole sponsors

Alabama Angus Ass'n Conover Auction Service, Baxter, Iowa Dobson Pulpwood Farm, Campti, La.



Tournament sponsors

Doug Satree Angus, Montague, Texas
Drew & Kaylar Howard, Paradox Farms,
Sycamore, Ga.
Fernvale Angus, Mineral Point, Wis.
Georgia Angus Ass'n
Green Mountain Angus Ranch,
Ryegate, Mont.
Haywood Cattle Co., Union, Iowa
Indiana Angus Ass'n
Jim & Linda Shirley, Saint Joseph, Mo.
Lantz & Dickinson Angus, Congerville,

Ill.
Lazy JB Angus Ranch, Montrose, Colo.
Lee Agri Media, Mandan, N.D.
Macedon Farms, Madison, Ala.
Milo's Tea Co., Bessemer, Ala.
Minnesota Angus Ass'n
Mississippi Angus Ass'n
Norman & Vicki Garton, Nevada, Mo.
Petteway Citrus & Cattle, Zolfo Springs,
Fla.
Richard & Kathy Tokach. Saint

Richard & Kathy Tokach, Saint Anthony, N.D. Schnoor Sisters, Chowchilla, Calif. Steve Dorran, Hyannis, Neb. Sydenstricker Genetics, Mexico, Mo. Talon Ranch, Twin Bridges, Mont.

Flag sponsors

Aristocrat Angus Ranch, Platteville, Colo.
Austin John, Schertz, Texas
Britt Angus Farm, Jefferson, Ga.
Davis Farms, Doerun, Ga.
Harry H. Bachman – Auctioneer, Annville, Pa.
Heldermon Sales Co. Inc., Sulphur, Okla.
In memory of Lyle Haring
Jarrell Angus, Butler, Ga.
Jerry Lehmann, Columbia, Mo.
Jim Baldridge's Secret Seasoning, North Platte,
Neb.
LaBoube Farms, Hermann, Mo.
Maine Junior Angus Ass'n
Michigan Angus Ass'n
Triple 3 Bar S Angus, Lampe Family, Scott City,

*Other prizes and golf tournament registration gifts provided by Titleist, Callaway and Nike.



► On hand to welcome players to The Legacy Golf Club, NJAA Board Members Rebecca Tokach and Trey Davis assist Kris Sticken, Angus Foundation staff member, with player registration and check-in.



Sunshine and a beautiful course kept players' and sponsors' spirits high as they raised more than \$20,000 for the Angus Foundation's education, youth and research activities.



► The winning team, from the home state of lowa, included (from left) **Josh Barnes, Troy Tickner, Jean Burch** and **Jerry Carrico.**



► The winners of Flight B included **Dick Rogen**, **Jeff Creamer**, **Scott Bush** and **Chris Styles**, representing the states of Colorado and South Dakota.



► Jon Malmborg, Calvin Levisay, Carole Silveira and Kyle Kemp — from the states of Texas, Kentucky and California — were the Flight C Winners.