

IN THE NEWS

ABS Global Inc., De Forest, Wis., honored several of its representatives during 2004 ABS regional banquets. Max Payne Jr., Pampa, Texas, was named the Representative of the Year for District 708, which includes Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Arizona and Louisiana. Roger Wann received the District Sales Manager of the Year Award for ABS Division 2. John Fisher, Buhler, Kan., received the Representative of the Year Award for District 201. Tom Christian, Tallahassee, Fla., was named the Representative of the Year for District 707, which includes Alabama, Florida, Georgia and Mississippi. Independent representatives Margaret Nachtigall and Anita Pepin shared the Representative of the Year Award for District 915. Their company, Engelbert A.I., serves beef and dairy producers in Western South Dakota.

The National Cattlemen's Beef Association (NCBA) named **J.D. Fitzpatrick,** Winchester, Ky., the Top Hand Champion for recruiting 87 new members. **Dale Lueck,** Aitkin, Minn., followed Fitzpatrick with 85 recruits. Both are to be recognized at the 2005 Cattle Industry Annual Convention and Trade Show in San Antonio, Texas, Feb. 2-5. The Top Hand program is sponsored by Merial and recognizes NCBA members who increase and strengthen the association's membership.

Byrd Cattle Co., Red Bluff, Calif., was named Tehama County Farmer of the Year at the 2004 Tehama County Farm City Night. Made up of Dan, Chris, Ty and Brooke Byrd, and Regina Bass, Byrd Cattle Co. maintains 100 head of purebred Angus cattle, as well as 150 recipient cows carrying Angus embryos.

IN PASSING

Larry McClelland, 67, West Point, Ill., died Oct. 15, 2004, at a farm near Loraine.

He was born March 17, 1937, in Bowen, Ill., to Albert Leland and Hazel Phillips McClelland. Larry graduated Bowen High School as valedictorian in 1955, and he married Karol Phelps on July 5, 1964, in Plymouth.

He was a lifelong farmer and known for breeding Angus cattle. He was a member of the Bowen Christian Church, where he served as elder, deacon and Sunday school teacher. He was a member of the American Angus Association for 51 years, and was selected as the Hancock County Cattleman of the Year in 1989. He was a member and a secretary of the Western Illinois Angus Association for 15 years, and he belonged to the Lamoine Valley Angus Association, serving as president for one year. He was a 4-H leader for 20 years and served a term on the Bowen School Board. He served in the U.S. Army Reserves.

Larry is survived by his wife, Karol; Continued on page **56** CONTINUED FROM PAGE 54

stepmother, Eileen; brother, Ronald; two daughters, Valerie and Vicki; one son, Michael; and seven grandchildren.

INDUSTRY EXTRAS

Ten members were appointed to the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) National Agricultural Research, Extension, Education and Economics Advisory Board. Of the individuals appointed, six are new and four are reappointed.

The newly appointed members are Joseph DiPietro, University of Florida, Gainesville, Fla.; Jeffrey Hamley, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College, Mount Pleasant, Mich.; Mary Janice Hogan-Schiltgen, University of Minnesota, Saint Paul, Minn.; Susan Stafford, University of Minnesota, Saint Paul, Minn.; Arnold Taylor, Hopi Tribe, Kykotsmovi, Ariz.; and Alton Thompson, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, Greensboro, N.C.

Reappointed members include **Walter Armbruster**, Farm Foundation, Oak Brook, Ill.; **Jeffrey Armstrong**, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich.; **George Hoffman**, Restaurant Services Inc., Coral Gables, Fla.; and **Martin Massengale**, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Neb.

Members of the board serve three-year terms and review and provide consultation to the Secretary of Agriculture and landgrant colleges and universities on national policies and priorities relating to ag research, Extension, education and economics.

Elsa Murano, former undersecretary for Food Safety, has accepted positions as vice chancellor of agriculture for the Texas A&M University system, dean of the College of Agriculture at the College Station campus and director of the Texas Agricultural Experiment Station. In a press release, Agriculture Secretary Ann Veneman said Murano improved the training program at the Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) during her tenure. She also helped reduce foodborne illnesses and product recalls, and she effectively led the agency in implementing new controls against bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE).

Alan and **Tauna Powell**, Laclede, Mo., were named Grasslanders of the Year at the Missouri Forage and Grassland Council (MFGC) annual meeting. The Powells practice management-intensive grazing (MiG) on their 1,200-acre farm stocked with 800 cows. **Mark Kennedy**, Houston, Mo., was named Agency Grasslander of the Year. Kennedy is a state grassland conservationist with the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS). Terry Bohmont, Sparta, Mo., was named MFGC president during its annual meeting at the Lake of the Ozarks. New board members include Ian Kurtz, Ozark; David Davis, Linneus; and Pat McCartney, Columbia. Eric Bright, Bucklin, was elected vice president. Joetta Roberts, Columbia, continues as executive secretary, and Fred Martz, Columbia, continues as treasurer.

Alan Smith, Wichita, Kan., has been elected as 2004-2005 chairman of the U.S. Meat Export Federation (USMEF). Smith, Cargill Meat Solutions, formerly represented the Texas Beef Council on the USMEF board before becoming an officer. Smith was elected at the board's strategic planning and marketing conference Nov. 5 in Albuquerque, N.M., along with other officers and sector representatives.

John Bellinger, San Antonio, Texas, was elected chairman-elect; Dennis Erpelding, Greenfield, Ind., was named vice chairman; and Dan Halstrom, Greeley, Colo., was selected as secretary-treasurer. New sector representatives include Dan Spurling, Austin, Minn.; Richard Schwartz, Nebraska; Kimberly Sutter, Ankeny, Iowa; and Rick Harbaugh, Hawarden, Iowa.

Aj