New Junior Leaders Elected

Junior Angus members conduct business, elect leaders at 2009 NJAS.

by Shelia Stannard

ational Junior Angus Association (NJAA) members conducted business at the NJAA Annual Meeting during the 2009 National Junior Angus Show (NJAS) July 19-25 in Perry, Ga.

Voting delegates elected six directors to serve a two-year term on the NJAA Board of Directors. The newly elected directors and the officers beginning their second year on the Board were announced during the awards ceremony July 24.

Kirbe Schnoor, Chowchilla, Calif., will serve as chairperson. She is the daughter of Brad and Mindy Schnoor and attends California State University–Fresno.

Christopher Cassady, Ancona, Ill., was elected vice chairman. The Texas A&M University student is the son of Kevin and Debbie Cassady.

Lindsay Waugh, Goodhue, Minn., will serve as communications director. She is the daughter of Bruce and LeeAnn Waugh and attends North Dakota State University.

Robert Myers, Yamhill, Ore., is the Foundation director. He is the son of Steve and Robin Myers and attends Oregon State University.

Ashlyn Carter, Noblesville, Ind., is the new leadership director. She is the daughter of Sam Carter and Tamela Grabb and attends Purdue University.

Andrew Rogen, Brandon, S.D., will serve as membership director. He is the son of Dick and Shally Rogen and attends South Dakota State University.

This year, candidates from 13 states ran for the six open positions on the Board. Delegates cast their ballots for six candidates after each submitted an application, gave a presentation, answered impromptu questions and completed roundtable interviews. A brief biography of the newly elected directors follows.

Britney Creamer, Montrose, Colo., is the daughter of Jeff and Kathi Creamer and has been active in the Colorado Junior Angus Association, where she currently serves as president. She will transfer to Oklahoma State University this fall, and will pursue a dual major in agricultural economicsinternational marketing and Spanish.

Danielle Foster, Niles, Mich., is a student at the University of Michigan, majoring in communications studies. She is the daughter

of Scott and Elaine Foster and has been active in junior Angus programs her entire life. She served as the 2008 Miss American Angus.

Clinton Laflin, Olsburg, Kan., is the son of Guy Laflin and Heather Fuesz. He is a student at Butler Community College in El Dorado, Kan., majoring in agricultural communications. Laflin has been active in the Kansas Junior Angus Association and serves as second vice president.

Cody Smith, West Plains, Mo., is the son of Kelly and Elayne Smith. He is the Missouri Junior Angus Association president. He attends Missouri State University in Springfield and is studying agricultural business.

Jennifer Ann Smith hails from Elysian Fields, Texas, and is the daughter of Bob and Jeannie Smith. She attends Texas A&M where she studies agricultural business. She has been active in the Texas Junior Angus Association and shows cattle nationally.

Jaclyn Upperman, Chambersburg, Pa., is the daughter of Steve and Jane Upperman. She is enrolled in the nursing program at Shenandoah University. An avid Angus leader, she is the 2011 NJAS junior chairperson in Pennsylvania.

Several directors and officers on this year's Board are continuing a family tradition of leadership. Schnoor, Creamer and Foster all have older siblings who have served on previous Boards. Laflin's dad and cousin both served on the NJAA Board.

Other business

In addition to electing the Board, delegates to this year's meeting also passed two bylaw changes regarding selection of delegates to the NJAA Annual Meeting. The amendments are to Article II, Section 3, and read as follows:

- ► The voting rights of members shall be vested exclusively in the organizational members. Junior membership of the state shall elect two delegates and each such delegate shall be entitled to cast one vote on each matter submitted to a vote of the members; and
- Said delegates must be junior, life, or regular members of the Association and must range in age of 14-20 as of January 1 of their delegate year.



► Elected to serve as the NJAA Board of Directors are (seated, from left) Kirbe Schnoor, Chowchilla, Calif., chairperson; Christopher Cassady, Ancona, Ill., vice chairman; Lindsay Waugh, Goodhue, Minn., communications director; Ashlyn Carter, Noblesville, Ind., leadership director; Andrew Rogen, Brandon, S.D., membership director; Robert Myers, Yamhill, Ore., Foundation director; standing, from left) Clinton Laflin, Olsburg, Kan.; Danielle Foster, Niles, Mich.; Jennifer Ann Smith, Elysian Fields, Texas; Jaclyn Upperman, Chambersburg, Pa.; Britney Creamer, Montrose, Colo.; and Cody Smith, West Plains, Mo.