## NJAA Recognizes 2014 Advisors of the Year

Wisconsin Junior Angus Association honors their own as 2014 Advisors of the Year.

by Carrie Horsley, Angus Foundation

Wisconsin Junior Angus Association (WJAA) advisors since 1997, Kevin and Keri Retallick are described by fellow Angus breeders as committed, supportive and enthusiastic. Over the years, they have taken a small state membership and transformed it into a strong, involved and active group on all levels of competition.

To honor their dedication to youth, the National Junior Angus Association (NJAA) recognized the Retallicks as Advisors of the Year at the 2014 National Junior Angus Show (NJAS) in Indianapolis, Ind.

"They both take the time to really get involved with the younger members by encouraging them to participate in all aspects of the association," wrote Scott and Mia

35 Keys to Success

Youth Development



► Kevin and Keri Retallick, Glen Haven, Wis., were honored as Advisors of the Year. Pictured are (from left) Paige Wallace, leadership director on the National Junior Angus Board, presenting; and Keri and Kevin Retallick.

Bayer, fellow WJAA advisors. "Their knowledge of the Angus industry and willingness to share this knowledge with others, especially with young members, make them outstanding advisors."

The couple has been known to lend a helping hand, even when their own three daughters were preparing for show or competition. Their encouragement and guidance starts by asking a young member how their heifer is doing, then congratulating youth as they leave the showring and even helping with scholarship applications.

The Retallicks are positive examples to the youth who set high standards of excellence for the WJAA members. They have been named WJAA advisors of the year five times, and in 2002 they were co-chairs of the NIAS hosted in Milwaukee, Wis.

The NJAA Advisor of the Year Award was introduced in 1980 to recognize the tremendous contributions of junior Angus association advisors. Any junior Angus association advisors are eligible for the award by sending in a letter of nomination.

**Editor's Note:** Carrie Horsley is director of marketing and public relations for the Angus Foundation.



## **Nominations and past Advisor of the Year winners**

In 1980, the idea of recognizing the tremendous contributions of junior Angus association advisors was conceived, and during the National Junior Angus Show the following year, the Advisor of the Year award was introduced.

Although there are many advisors who are deserving of recognition, the purpose of this annual award is to highlight the work of one outstanding advisor and extend a special token of appreciation to that person or couple.

Any junior Angus association may nominate an advisor for the award by sending a letter of nomination (which briefly describes the contributions of the nominee, and photographs of the nominee) to the Junior Activities Department of the American Angus Association. The letter should include 1) an introduction; 2) a description of the nominee's involvement in various levels of Angus activities; 3) a description of the nominee's involvement in civic, church and other activities; and 4) brief closing comments.

Nominations for the Advisor of the Year are accepted through March 1 of each year.

Previous honorees are as follows.

1981 - Bob Herriott, Illinois

1982 - Paul & Vicki St. Blanc, Louisiana

1983 - Mida Peterson, West Virginia

1984 — Evelyn Edmunds, South Carolina

1985 — J.V. & Helen Heyser, Texas

1986 — Gordon & Norma Conner, Kentucky

1987 - Gerald Crossland, Arkansas

1988 — Dan & Karen Coonrad, Northwest Region

1989 — Jerry & Kay Williams, Texas

1990 - Ted & Windy Bartee, South Carolina

1991 — Stan & Barbara Shaw, Wisconsin

1992 — Dave & Sue McGiveron, Wisconsin

1993 - Melvin & Donna Porter, Georgia

1994 - Glen & Pat Grote, Texas

1995 - Tom Nichols, Iowa

1996 — Charles "Bud" and Pam Smith, Kentucky

1997 - Pete & Barb Sweeney, Michigan

1998 - Don & Pam Snepp, Indiana

1999 — William & Lucille Leatherman, North Carolina

2000 - Mike & Kerri Gleason, Texas

2001 - Jane & Teddy Morelock, Arkansas

2002 — Connie Robbins and Cary Childs, Mississippi

2003 - Frank & Julie Feeser, Maryland

2004 — Carla Vaught, Arkansas

2005 - John & Pam Patterson, Montana

2006 - Doug & Glenda Schroeder, Iowa

2007 - Anne Lampe, Kansas

2008 - Michelle Rieff, Arkansas

2009 - Mike & Barbara Ettredge, Texas

2010 - Carolyn Gazda, Georgia

2011 - Rachel Frost, Illinois

2012 - Eddie & Patti Hymel, Louisiana

2013 - Tom & Merridee Wells, Texas