Junior Angus Board Selected

Therdeen in twent

Six young leaders elected to the National Junior Angus Board of Directors.

ach year, 12 young men and women • represent the Angus breed as the National Junior Angus Board (NJAB). At the 2013 National Junior Angus Show (NJAS) in Kansas City, Mo., six young people were elected to join the board. The new additions for 2013-2014 are Will Fiske, Greenville, Va.; Shane Kerner, Weiser, Idaho; Jessica Radcliffe, Weston, Wis.; Lindsay Upperman, Chambersburg, Pa.; Cory Watt, Iva, S.C.; and Tylee Jo Williams, Rio Vista, Texas.

hansas

.012 National Jr. Angus Show .

"It was hard to believe that all of my hard work finally paid off," Williams says. "I can't

by Laurin Spraberry, American Angus Association

wait to begin this journey and give back to this organization."

The newly elected directors were chosen by delegates representing each state at the 2013 NJAS. They will serve a two-year term and travel across the country to various events, while promoting the Angus breed and helping youth succeed in the National Junior Angus Association (NJAA). The new board members' first activity was the Leaders Engaged in Angus Development (LEAD) conference in New Orleans, La., Aug. 1-4.

Get to know the directors

A native from the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Fiske has served as president of the Virginia Junior Angus Association and assisted in planning the Virginia Tech Raising the Bar conference in 2013. The seventhgeneration cattle producer will complete his senior year at Virginia Tech this fall. Fiske will receive his degree in animal sciences with a minor in ag economics.

thirteen

Kerner is a current member of the Idaho and Northwest Junior Angus associations. She assists her family with their commercial ranch and started her own Angus herd in



Elected to serve as the National Jr. Angus Board of Directors are (front row, from left) Jacy Alsup, Gravette, Ark., chairman; Daniel McFarland, Keithville, La., vice chairman; Maggie Jasper, Versailles, Ky., communications director; Jena Wagner, Billings, Mont., membership director; Paige Wallace, Stotts City, Mo., leadership director; Luke Nord, Wolverton, Minn., Foundation director; (back row, from left) Will Fiske, Greenville, Va.; Lindsay Upperman, Chambersburg, Pa.; Tylee Jo Williams, Rio Vista, Texas; Shane Kerner, Weiser, Idaho; Jessica Radcliffe, Weston, Wis.; and Cory Watt, Iva, S.C.

2007. This fall, Kerner will be attending Kansas State University (K-State) and working toward a degree in animal sciences with an emphasis in business and communications.

A fourth-generation Angus breeder and current member of the Wisconsin Junior Angus Association, Radcliffe is a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, pursuing a degree in agricultural and consumer economics with a concentration in agribusiness markets and management, as well as a minor in animal sciences.

Upperman has been a member of the Pennsylvania Junior Angus Association since 2004 and has served in several leadership positions. She is a recent graduate of Butler Community College, where she received her associate's degree in agriculture. This fall, she will attend K-State and major in animal sciences with a minor in biotechnology.

Watt has been an active member of the NJAA since 2000, attending his first NJAS in 2003. He will enter his senior year at Clemson University this fall, where he studies animal and veterinary science, with a focus in ag business.

From the Lone Star State, Williams is a fifth-generation Angus breeder and has been involved in the Texas Junior Angus Association since 2002. She is a sophomore at Texas Tech University and is pursuing a degree in ag communications.

Second-year board members elected to officer positions are:

- chairman, Jacy Alsup, Gravette, Ark.;
 vice chairman, Daniel McFarland,
- Keithville, La.;
- communications director, Maggie Jasper, Versailles, Ky.;
- membership director, Jena Wagner, Billings, Mont.;
- ► leadership director, Paige Wallace, Stotts City, Mo.; and
- Foundation director, Lucas Nord, Wolverton, Minn.

New faces also mean six board members said their goodbyes to the NJAA. Those who retired from the board are JanLee Rowlett, Hurricane Mills, Tenn.; Sally Yon, Ridge Spring, S.C.; Jennifer Ewing, Rushville, Ill.; Megan Ahearn, Wills Point, Texas; Kelli Retallick, Glen Haven, Wis.; and Meghan Blythe, White City, Kan.

Ay

Editor's Note: Laurin Spraberry is the public relations and communications intern for the American Angus Association.

The First Board

The National Junior Angus Association was established July 20, 1980, as delegates representing 40 states gathered in the Kansas Coliseum in Wichita, Kan., to elect the first National Junior Angus Board of Directors. Thirty-one candidates ran for the board that first year. Those earning seats on the board drew straws to see who would be elected to one-year terms as the first officers of the NJAA, and who would be elected to two-year terms.



► The first NJAA Board of Directors consisted of (seated, from left) Julie McMahon, Arkansas; Tracy Crose, California; Angie Hunt, Indiana; Tracey Chapman, Georgia, Communications Committee chairman; Jodie Wallace, West Virginia; Sharon Diuble, Michigan; (back row, from left) Jerry Lipsey, American Angus Association director of junior activities; George Mc-Donald, Tennessee, vice chairman; Mark Wyble, Louisiana, Achievement Committee chairman; Dale Rains, Rules Committee chairman; Brace Kroeker, Kansas; and John Kiesewetter, Illinois, chairman.

Angus Journal® Virtual Library

For easy access to all of *Angus Journal's* meeting coverage sites, informational sites and other digital resources, visit:

www.api-virtuallibrary.com

For more information contact Angus Journal Editor Shauna Hermel 3201 Frederick Ave. • Saint Joseph, MO 64506 shermel@angusjournal.com