

IN A LEAGUE OF OUR OWN

Golf Tournament Grosses \$14,400 CONTINUED FROM PAGE 227

ifty-six Angus youth and adult participants helped raise \$14,400 in gross proceeds for education, youth and research at the 12th Annual Angus Foundation Golf Tournament July 17, 2012, at the Quail Chase Golf Club in Louisville, Ky. The tournament was hosted in conjunction with the 2012 National Junior Angus Show (NJAS).

"As in years past, the Angus Foundation is very appreciative of the generous support from Angus breeders, allied industry interests and friends helping to make our golf tournament fundraiser another successful event," says Milford Jenkins, Angus Foundation president. "Their financial help through sponsorships and playing in the tournament enable us to offer this always fun and spirited competition for our Angus

golf enthusiasts attending the NJAS.

"Net proceeds from the tournament are used for scholarships, education and research for the benefit of our members and the Angus breed," Jenkins continues. "Our many thanks to everyone who supported this year's tournament."

Golf tournament winners this year in Flight A included Jim Purfeerst, Matt Purfeerst and Mark Purfeerst, all of Faribault, Minn., and Lynn Ewald of Waldorf, Minn. Flight B winners were Don Denny and Dylan Denny of Lubbock, Texas; Tye Williams of Idalou, Texas; and Dawson Dal Porto of Brentwood, Calif. Flight C winners included Chance Hardy and Cort Hardy of Diamond, Mo., Conrad Behlmann of Saint Paul, Mo., and Gene Mullett of Coshocton, Ohio.

of Idalou, Texas; and Dawson Dal Porto of Brentwood, Calif. Flight C winners included Chance Hardy and Cort Hardy of Diamond, Mo., Conrad Behlmann of Saint Paul, Mo., and Gene Mullett of Coshocton, Ohio.

► Winning first place in flight A are (from left) Matt Purfeerst, Jim Purfeerst and Mark Purfeerst, all of Faribault, Minn.; and Lynn Ewald, Waldorf, Minn.

Contest winners included the following:

- ► longest putt for men, Brett Flach of Harrodsburg, Ky.;
- ► longest putt for women, Christina Ritter of Laytonsville, Md.;
- ► longest drive for men, Greg Connell of Eugene, Mo.;
- ►longest drive for women, Ritter;
- ► closest to the pin for men, Dylan Denny;
- ► closest to the pin for women, Ritter;
- ► most accurate drive for men, Dereck Washam of Pierce City, Mo.; and
- ► most accurate drive for women, Joelle Jensen, North English, Iowa.

Tournament sponsors included 2012 event sponsors Terry Stade Farms, Shakopee, Minn., and Richard Ames, Jordan, Minn.

"Our many thanks

to everyone who

supported this

year's tournament."

— Milford Jenkins

Club house sponsor was Omega Farms, Williamston, Mich. Holein-one sponsors were Paul and Lynn Hill, Sarah and Jason Schaffer, and Neenah and Alok Jain, Bidwell, Ohio. Tee box sponsors included American Angus Association regional

managers, and Bob and Cathy Watkins, Middletown, Ind.

Hole sponsors included Briarwood Angus Farms, Butler, Mo.; Jarold and Jennifer Callahan, Edmond, Okla.; Conover Auction Service, Baxter, Iowa; Dameron Angus, Lexington, Ill.; Dobson Angus Farm, Campti, La.; Express Ranches, Yukon, Okla.; Georgia Angus Association; Green Mountain Angus Ranch, Ryegate, Mont.; Indiana Angus Association; Lazy JB Angus, Montrose, Colo.; Maplecrest Farms, Hillsboro, Ohio; McCabe Genetics, Elk City, Kan.; Minnesota Angus Association; Mississippi Angus Association; Mitteness Family Angus, Benson, Minn.; Doug Satree Angus, Montague, Texas; Schroeder Angus, Clarence, Iowa; Styles Angus, Brentford, S.D.; Matth Toebben, Crescent Springs, Ky.; Tokach Angus Ranch, Saint Anthony, N.D.; and Wisconsin Junior Angus Association.

Flag sponsors were 2K Cattle Ent., Glen Haven, Wis.; A&B Cattle, Bassett, Neb.; Harry H. Bachman Auctioneer, Annville, Pa.; DLB Angus, Finksburg, Md.; Frey Livestock Supply, Quarryville, Penn.; Michigan Angus Association; and Penner Ranch, Mill Creek, Okla

Sysco Louisville Inc. provided *Certified Angus Beef*® (CAB®) steaks for the tournament awards luncheon. Milo's Famous Tea provided golfers with tea during the tournament and luncheon.

Lindsey Grimes, Angus Foundation director on the National Junior Angus Association (NJAA) Board of Directors from Hillsboro, Ohio, and Kelli Retallick, member of the NJAA Board of Directors from Glen Haven, Wis., served as this year's masters of ceremonies.

The Angus Foundation was established in 1980 as a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization to support Angus education, youth and research. To learn more about the Angus Foundation and the programs it supports, call the American Angus Association at 816-383-5100 or go to www.angusfoundation.org.

Editor's Note: *Katie Allen is director of marketing and public relations for the Angus Foundation.*



► Winning first place in flight C are (from left) Gene Mullett, Coshocton, Ohio; Chance Hardy and Cort Hardy, both of Diamond, Mo.; and Conrad Behlmann, Saint Paul, Mo.



► Winning first place in flight B are (from left) **Dawson Dal Porto**, Brentwood, Calif.; **Dylan Denny** and **Don Denny**, both of Lubbock, Texas; and **Tye Williams**, Idalou, Texas.

NJAS 2012 · LOUISVILLE, KY

