

Best of Beef Awards

The best in the beef industry are recognized.

by Kasey Miller

any facets of the beef industry were honored for excellence Feb. 2 at the Best of Beef Breakfast during the 2012 Cattle Industry Convention and NCBA Trade Show in Nashville, Tenn. Kyle Bauer of the National Association of Farm Broadcasters (NAFB) and KFRM Radio in the High Plains region of Kansas, emceed the event.

Four companies earned **Retail Beef Backer** awards, a recognition funded by the beef checkoff. The independent retailer winner was Broulim's Fresh Foods of Idaho. The midsize chain retailer was Haggen Food & Pharmacy/ TOP Foods & Drugs of Washington state, and the large chain retailer was Harris Teeter Inc., based in North Carolina. Harris Teeter serves 1 million pounds of beef to households on a weekly basis. The Innovator of the Year went to Safeway, which promotes 100% U.S. beef with its Rancher's Reserve® brand.

The **Foodservice Beef Backer** awards were also funded by the beef checkoff. Little Apple Brewing Co. of Kansas, which has 50 beef entrée specials, won the independent operator category. Read more about them on pages 248-249 of this March *Angus Journal*. In the chain operator category, the Beef Backer Award was presented to Zippy's Restaurants in Hawaii, which purchase enough local beef to keep the cattle industry in the state viable. Named innovator of the year was Coeur d'Alene Casino Resort in Idaho. The resort fabricates it steaks on site and has a tableside service option.

The **Beef Quality Assurance (BQA) Award** winner was Wayne Fahsholtz of Padlock Ranch, Dayton, Wyo. Fahsholtz and his staff place importance on environmental stewardship, community support and hiring/developing excellent people. They raise more than 11,000 calves a year on 500,000 acres. The ranch uses best management practices throughout the animals' lives to enhance performance, health, beef quality and profitability.

The **BQA Marketer Award** winner was Morris Larson, Spencer Livestock Sales, Spencer, Iowa. Larson and his team have a high level of excellence in a facility that provides local producers a place to market their cattle. Livestock numbers have increased every year since 2004.

The **BQA Educator of the Year Award** winner was Dee Griffin of the University of Nebraska–Lincoln, Known as the "Father of

BQA," he started with the program in the 1970s as a veterinarian at Hitch Feeders. Griffin worked with the Texas Cattle Feeders Association (TCFA) to design a program to prevent antibiotic residues. Still an instrumental part of the program, he has trained and certified more than 1,000 producers and educated thousands about BQA.

Three Excellence in

Communications awards, sponsored by AgWired.com, were bestowed to journalists for their efforts in 2011. Carmen Fenton with the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association (TSCRA) won the Excellence in Communications and Public Relations (PR) for a State Affiliate. Angie Stump-Denton, with the American Hereford Association, won the Excellence in Communications and PR for a Breed Affiliate. Pete Crow, with Western Livestock Journal, won the Excellence in Agricultural Journalism.

The **BEEF Trailblazer Award** was won by The Diablo Trust, which was formed by two ranches that rely significantly on grazing of public lands — the Bar T Bar Ranch operated by Bob and Judy Prosser of Winslow, Ariz., and the Flying M Ranch operated by Jack and Mandy Metzger and Kit Metzger of Flagstaff, Ariz. The Diablo trust involves 26 collaborating groups, and is a venue in which public lands users and managers work together to achieve many shared goals.

The **BEEF Stocker Award** went to Pete Bonds, Bonds Ranch, Saginaw, Texas. The Bonds Ranch is a diversified operation with interests in the cow-calf, stocker and feeding sections. The operation employs a business-management strategy of return on equity, and each enterprise operates as its own profit-driven entity with the leverage between them offering more flexibility and opportunity.

The **Top Hand Club** honored its top three membership recruiters for the NCBA. Hugh McCampbell, Sweetwater, Tenn., won first with 50 recruits. NCBA President Bill Donald, Melville, Mont., won second with 30 recruits; and Dale Lueck, Aitkin, Minn., won third with 24 recruits.

Levi Berry, Happy, Texas, won the **Max Deets Scholarship**. The scholarship, established in honor of former NCBA President Max Deets, is funded by the Kansas



► Kyle Bauer of the National Association of Farm Broadcasters (NAFB) and KFRM Radio in the High Plains region of Kansas, emceed the Best of Beef Breakfast.

Livestock Association (KLA) and the NCBA. Berry is the Young Cattlemen's Conference (YCC) chairman, and was selected by his peers on the basis of outstanding leadership.

The Chicago Mercantile Exchange (CME) funded 10 **National Cattlemen's Foundation** (NCF) Scholarships of \$1,500. The top winner, Malorie Bankhead, also received a trip to the convention. The other winners included Megan Webb, Texas A&M University; Meghan Blythe, Kansas State University; Maci Lienemann, Norris High School, Nebraska; Trenton Blythe, White City High School, Kansas; Matthew McQuagge, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, Florida; Valene Lickley, Valley High School, Idaho; Katie Ochsner, Casper College, Wyoming; Reagan Kays, Kansas State University; Cade Sallee, Fowler High School, Colorado.

The 21st Annual Environmental
Stewardship Award Program regional
winners were honored at the breakfast.
Regional winners included Masonic Village
at Elizabethtown, Elizabethtown, Pa.; Daigle
Farms, David Daigle, Ragley, La.; Matador
Ranch, Matador Ranch Team, Matador, Texas;
M/M Feedlot, Mann family, Parma, Idaho;
Della Ranches and the Tanner family of Grouse
Creek, Grouse Creek, Utah; and Center of the
Nation Cattle Co., Smeenk family, Newell, S.D.
The Masonic Village was recognized as the
national winner later in the evening.

Editor's Note: This article is part of the event coverage posted to www.4cattlemen.com by Angus Productions Inc. (API). Visit the newsroom at www.4cattlemen.com for comprehensive coverage of the event, including greater detail on the awards noted above. For API coverage of other industry events, including the April Beef Improvement Federation (BIF) Symposium, visit www.api-virtuallibrary.com.