be added to a permanent plaque in the Association library and included in the next published edition of the *Angus Heritage Foundation* booklet.

The National Junior Angus Association (NJAA) recognized its 2013 Outstanding Leadership Award recipient, Hannah Wright, Spring City, Tenn. Each year, a junior member is selected for the award based upon leadership exhibited through Angus and other activities. Wright is currently a senior pursuing her undergraduate degree at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Upon graduation, she hopes to attend law school. See "The Path Less Traveled" on page 116 of the September 2013 Angus Journal for more.

In addition, the Association honored past and present members of its board of directors, including the most recent members who were elected Nov. 18 during the 130th Annual Convention of Delegates. Incoming Association President Gordon Stucky, Kingman, Kan., addressed the crowd, as well as Cortney Holshouser, Castalia, N.C., who will serve as the next American Angus Auxiliary president. Holshouser introduced her fellow Auxiliary officers and the 2014 Miss American Angus, Catherine Harward, Richfield, N.C.

During the 2012-2013 show season, nearly 2,000 head of cattle competed for points during 15 Roll of Victory (ROV) shows across the country. The ROV Show Heifer, Show Bull and Breeder of the Year were recognized during the Annual Awards Banquet, while other winners were recognized during the ROV shows.

EXAR Envious Blackbird 1760, owned by Ashley Cox, Eagle Point, Ore., earned the title of ROV Show Heifer of the Year, as well as being named Junior Champion Female of the Year. Cox received a crystal award for her outstanding Angus heifer.

The 2012-2013 ROV Show Bull of the Year went to Sankey's Justified 101, owned by Chris and Sharee Sankey, Council Grove,



►EXAR Envious Blackbird 84235 was named ROV Embryo Transfer Dam of the Year. Express Angus Ranches and Jennifer Smith, Elysian Fields, Texas, own the winning female. Pictured are (from left) McCabe, Reiger and Funk.

Kan.; Foster Campbell, Bossier City, La.; and Justamere Ranch Ltd., Lloydminster, Sask., Canada. The bull was also named Junior Champion Bull of the Year. The owners were awarded an engraved bull statue.

Express Angus Ranches, Yukon, Okla., was named 2012-2013 ROV Breeder of the Year.

livestock-judging team

See "Roll of Victory" on page 312 of the September 2013 *Angus Journal* for the full slate of winners for the 2012-2013 show year.

AJ Editor's Note: Carrie Heitman is the communications coordinator for the American

Angus member on national champion

The Texas A&M University livestock judging team claimed the 2013 national championship at the National Collegiate Livestock Judging Contest Nov. 18, marking its 12th national livestock judging title.

Angus Association.

The contest took place at the North American International Livestock Exposition (NAILE) in Louisville, Ky. It is the oldest and most prestigious livestock-judging contest in the nation, according to event organizers.

This year, 151 individuals from 31 universities participated in the competition. During the judging contest, teams of five students from each university evaluated five classes of beef cattle, four classes of swine and three classes of sheep. Students were also required to present oral reasons — explaining why they placed animals in a particular order — for eight of the classes they placed.

Texas A&M won the contest with 4,662 of 5,000 possible points, outscoring secondplace Texas Tech University by 18 points. Kansas State University, Oklahoma State University and Iowa State University finished third through fifth, respectively. As a team, Texas A&M won first place in the cattle and sheep categories, second in swine and third in reasons.

"The 2013 team is excited and honored to bring another national championship home to Aggieland and carry on the tradition," said Brant Poe, lecturer in the department of animal science and team coordinator. "These young men and women understood that they were representing something more than just themselves; they performed their best for their team and the university."

Team members are Holly Behrens, Port Lavaca; Angus member Makayla Spaman, Oakdale, Calif.; Kit Clostio, Sweene; Zach Davis, Willis; Keaton Dodd, Blanco; Katie Eslick, Winters, Calif.; Justin James, Prosper; Kati Keys, Riverton, Wyo.; Brett Moriarty, Spokane, Wash. and Corey Sanchez, Bangs, all senior animal science majors. Rounding out the team is Everleigh Hayes, senior agricultural leadership and development major from Port Lavaca; and Konni Kelso, senior agribusiness major from Seguin.

The team is coached by Poe and his assistants, animal science graduate students Caleb Boardman and Cassidy Hayes.

Of the 12 students on the team, eight made the "traveling squad" to Louisville and five were chosen to judge in the contest. Competing on the winning team were Dodd, Hayes, James, Sanchez and Spaman. In individual rankings, Hayes won fourth overall, third in cattle and reasons, and eighth in swine; James won sixth overall and first in sheep; Dodd scored seventh overall; and Sanchez finished seventh in cattle.

"Teamwork is such a vital component of the judging experience. I firmly believe that the team's success hinged on their ability to push each other to improve daily," Poe said. "In addition, the judging team traveled to the nation's most elite livestock operations, honing their evaluation skills viewing quality livestock while hearing management and breeding philosophies of owners and managers. Gaining an appreciation of animal agriculture operations in various parts of the country and insight into successful operations are invaluable experiences.

"I am proud of this team, of course, for being crowned national champions, but also for taking full advantage of the opportunities judging offers, and growing in agriculture knowledge, as well as life skills."

As the championship team, Texas A&M was presented two highly coveted valuable works of art. The first is a bronze bull known as "The Spoor Trophy." During the past 108 years, approximately 3,000 teams in more than 20,000 contests have competed for the famous bronze bull. The other award is the silver epergne, a perpetual challenge trophy. This trophy was first presented in 1950 and is valued in the six-figure range, according to national livestock exposition officials.

- Courtney Coufal, Texas AgriLife Communications

Aj