

November Board highlights

The following is a review of the topics discussed and actions taken during the meetings of the Board of Directors convened Nov. 2 and 5, 2015, in Overland Park, Kan.

Actions taken

- The 2015 annual reports of the American Angus Association and the Angus Foundation were presented to the Board.
- ► It was announced that Allen Moczygemba, the new CEO, and his wife, Venetta, would arrive during the National Angus Convention & Trade Show and would attend the annual Convention of Delegates and other events.
- The Board directed staff to proceed with development of a structured sire evaluation with details to go through the Breed Improvement Committee and a report to be made at the February regular Board meeting. This program will generate additional



progeny data for carcass and other traits, by mating Angus sires to commercial cows in a well-designed program.

- The Special Minutes Policy Review Committee continued its review of practices concerning reporting of the minutes.
- Plans for the first Angus Pen Heifer Show at the 2016 National Western Stock Show (NWSS) are generating increased interest.
- ► The Board discussed oculocutaneous hypopigmentation (OH) as a genetic

condition, and approved a plan to identify OH as a condition, establish a policy as proposed online at *https://www.angus.org/ Pub/OH/OHPolicy.pdf*, and authorize announcement on the Association's website at *https://www.angus.org/Pub/OH/ OHLetter.pdf*.

► The next regular American Angus Association Board meeting will be Feb. 24-26, 2016, in Saint Joseph, Mo.

Boards and committees

The following committees were appointed and subsidiary boards elected for 2016.

Executive Committee — Jim Sitz, chairman; Charlie Boyd, vice chairman; Kevin Yon, treasurer; Leo McDonnell; John Pfeiffer Jr.; and Rich Wilson, *ex officio*

Activities Committee — John Grimes, chairman; David Dal Porto, vice chairman; Tom Burke; Chuck Grove; and Mick Varilek CONTINUED ON PAGE 28

BOARD ACTION

CONTINUED FROM PAGE 26

Breed Improvement Committee — Jerry Connealy, chairman; Leo McDonnell, vice chairman; John Elbert Harrell; Mike McCravy; Don Schiefelbein; Mick Varilek; and Kevin Yon

Industry Relations Committee — John Elbert Harrell, chairman; Charlie Boyd, vice chairman; Tom Burke; James Coffey; and Jerry Connealy

Finance & Planning Committee — Kevin Yon, chairman; John Pfeiffer Jr., vice chairman; Charlie Boyd; Tom Burke; James Coffey; John Elbert Harrell; Leo McDonnell; Dave Nichols

Member & Affiliate Services Committee

— James Henderson, chairman; John Pfeiffer Jr., vice chairman; David Dal Porto; Mike McCravy; and Dave Nichols

Research Priorities Committee — Charlie Boyd, Association vice president, chairman; Kevin Yon, Association treasurer; Don Schiefelbein, AGI chairman; John Pfeiffer Jr., CAB chairman; Leo McDonnell, Angus Foundation chairman; Dan Moser, director of performance programs; Larry Corah, CAB staff representative, *ex officio*; Richard Wilson, Association interim CEO & CFO; Milford Jenkins, Angus Foundation president

National Cattlemen's Beef Association Appointments — NCBA Board Representative, Kevin Yon; Ag & Food Policy Committee, John Pfeiffer Jr.; Cattle Health & Well-being Committee, John Grimes; Cattle Marketing & International Trade Committee, James Henderson

Chaplain — John Elbert Harrell Parliamentarian — Sean Colligan Special Data Force Committee — Jerry Connealy, chairman; James Coffey, James Henderson; Leo McDonnell; and John Pfeiffer Jr.

Special Minutes Policy Review Committee — John Elbert Harrell, chairman; Tom Burke; David Dal Porto; John Grimes; Dave Nichols; Don Schiefelbein; and Kevin Yon

Angus Foundation Board — Leo McDonnell, chairman; Richard Wilson, vice chairman and secretary; Milford Jenkins, president; Tom Burke; John Grimes; Chuck Grove; John Elbert Harrell; Dave Nichols; Mark Duffell, outside representative **Angus Genetics Inc. Board** — Don Schiefelbein, chairman; Richard Wilson, vice chairman and secretary-treasurer; Dan Moser, president; Jerry Connealy; David Dal Porto; James Henderson; Leo McDonnell; Dave Nichols; and Kevin Yon

Angus Productions Inc. Board —

Charlie Boyd, chairman; Richard Wilson, vice chairman and secretary-treasurer; Eric Grant, president; James Coffey; Jerry Connealy; John Grimes; Chuck Grove; James Henderson; and Kevin Yon

Certified Angus Beef LLC Board — John

Pfeiffer Jr., chairman; Richard Wilson, vice chairman and secretary-treasurer; John Stika, president; Jerry Connealy; David Dal Porto; James Henderson; Don Schiefelbein; Mick Varilek; Dwight "Kip" Palmer, industry representative; Brent Eichar, assistant secretary

Editor's Note: The CEO of the American Angus Association is by position elected vice chairman of each entity board and appointed to the Research Priorities Committee. As such, Allen Moczygemba replaced Rich Wilson in those positions as of his hiring Dec. 1, 2015.

Aj