

At the wire

Delegates at the 127th Annual Convention had a unique opportunity Monday afternoon, Nov. 15, selecting five candidates from a field of 10.

Six ballots

It took six ballots to get five candidates elected to the Board of Directors of the American Angus Association. The first ballot was successful in selecting three men to serve the Board for the next three years, each receiving a majority of the 354 delegates' vote.

A second ballot was cast, asking delegates to select two directors from the remaining field of seven candidates. No one received a majority vote. So, the lowest vote getter was dropped from the ballot and delegates were asked to vote for two men from a field of six candidates on their third ballot. That ballot achieved the same result.

Again, a name was dropped, and delegates were asked to select two candidates from among five on Ballot 4. It accomplished the same result. Ballot 5 was successful in electing one candidate, but it took a sixth ballot to install our final director.

A strong field of candidates contributed to the unique situation. As you could tell in the biographies published in the October *Angus Journal*, each individual has a passion for our business and qualifications that could have earned a directorship in most any other year.

As members, we had the good fortune to meet or get to know each of these 10

individuals a little better, we were able to see the democratic process at work within the Association, and we identified five men to represent us for the next three years — and maybe some others to lead us in the future.

Kudos to the delegates for their dedication, patience and good humor in completing their responsibility, and congratulations to our newly installed directors, presented in alphabetical order: John Elbert Harrell, Alabama; Leo McDonnell, Montana; John Pfeiffer, Oklahoma; Jim Rentz, Ohio; and Kevin Yon, South Carolina.

Congratulations also to the new officers: Joe Hampton, North Carolina, president and chairman of the board; Jarold Callahan, Oklahoma, vice president and vice chairman of the board; and Phil Trowbridge, New York, treasurer.

Additional highlights

We'll have complete coverage in the January issue, but a few highlights that have happened so far this week:

Bidders raised \$225,150 toward the Angus Foundation's efforts to support education, youth and research during the auction at the BlackOnTrack! event hosted at Churchill Downs Saturday evening.

Lauren Grimes of Hillsboro, Ohio, won

the junior Angus heifer show at the North American International Livestock Exposition (NAILE) with Gamble's Shadoe 5069. Jared Radcliffe, Schofield, Wis., captured reserve honors with PVF Ellen 9100.

EXAR Wanted 9732B, exhibited by Express Angus Ranches, Yukon, Okla., and Willow Springs Ranch, Prairie Grove, Ark., won grand champion bull in the super-point ROV bull show. Gamble's Silveira's Hot Hand, exhibited by Holly Gamble, Clinton, Tenn., won reserve champion bull.

Paige Wallace of Stotts City, Mo., was crowned Miss American Angus. Barbara Ettredge of Pilot Point, Texas, was elected president of the American Angus Auxiliary. And Ardyce O'Neill, Logan, Iowa, was honored as a Distinguished Woman.

At Monday evening's annual banquet, Bailey Harsh, Radnor, Ohio, was presented the 2010 Outstanding Leadership Award.

- Honored as 2009-2010 ROV winners: ► Show Bull of the Year: Silveira's Trubador 8551, owned by Garrett Blanchard, Firebaugh, Calif.
- Show Heifer of the Year (tie): Werner Lady 3107, owned by Kimberlee Gieseker, Holliday, Mo.; and Cherry Knoll Eisa 8014, owned by Shelby Stabler, Gaithersburg, Md.; and
- ► Breeder of the Year, Greg Smith, Elida, N.M.

Inducted into the Angus Heritage Foundation were Leo Baker of South Dakota; Albert Gore Sr., formerly of Tennessee; Jay King of Illinois; Hugh Ingalls of Wyoming; and Jim and Ardyce O'Neill of Iowa.

Merry Christmas.

E-MAIL: shermel@angusjournal.com www.api-virtuallibrary.com

ANGUS PRODUCTIONS INC.

3201 Frederick Ave., Saint Joseph, MO 64506; 1-800-821-5478; fax: 816-233-6575; office hours: (M-F) 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. (Central) home page: **www.angusjournal.com**

Staff are listed by name, phone extension and e-mail prefix. All direct phone numbers are "816-383-5..."; all e-mail addresses are "...@angusjournal.com"

General manager - Terry Cotton, 214, tcotton

Editorial Department — Editor, *Shauna Rose Hermel*, 270, shermel **=** Assistant editors, *Mathew Elliott*, 277, melliott; & *Linda Robbins*, 245, Irobbins **=** Artists, *Mary Black & Craig Simmons*

Field editors — Barb Baylor Anderson, 305 Valley View Dr., Edwardsville, IL 62025, 618-656-0870, anderagcom@sbcglobal.net = Kindra Gordon, 11734 Weisman Rd., Whitewood, SD 57793, 605-722-7699, kindras@ gordonresources.com = Becky Mills, Rt. 1, Box 414, Cuthbert, GA 31740, 229-732-6748, lovettmills@windstream.net = Troy Smith, 44431 Sargent River Rd., Sargent, NE 68874, 308-527-3483, wordsmith@nctc.net Publications and Production — Manager, LaVera Spire, 220, lspire

Advertising Department — Advertising coordinators, *Doneta Brown*, 232, dbrown; *Karri Mildenberger*, 289, kmildenberger; & *Sara Reardon*, 212, sreardon = Production coordinator, *Carol Beckett*, 203, 226, cbeckett = Advertising artists, *Mike Bush & Monica Ford* = Proofreader coordinator, *Jacque McGinness*

Circulation & billing manager - LaVera Spire, 220, lspire

Special Services Department — Coordinator, Sharon Mayes, 221, smayes Assistants, Julie Tyliski & Vickie Whitsell = Artists, Susan Bomar & Bradley Redmond = Proofreader, Melinda Cordell

Web Services Department — Web Services coordinators, *Doneta Brown*, 232, dbrown; *Sara Reardon*, 212, sreardon; & Karri Mildenberger, 289, kmildenberger ■ Web developers, *Tim Blumer* & *Thuy Copeland*

Photo Department — Photo services coordinator, Kathrin Breytenbach = Photo services assistant, Colette Weipert

Network systems coordinator — Bruce Buntin

