A few highlights from BIF

In April due to its southern location, the annual Beef Improvement Federation (BIF) symposium seemed to come and go before we knew it. Our Texas hosts showed us Southern hospitality at its best, and the program featured issues ranging from feed efficiency to epigentics to what genetic tools nominees for producer of the year found most instrumental in their success. Find coverage in the Newsroom, Awards and Photos pages of www.BIFconference.com.

Angus producers, friends honored

Several Angus producers, seedstock and commercial, were honored, along with many friends in academia and industry. American Angus Association Director Leo McDonnell, Montana, joined Sally Buxkemper and Donald Franke in receiving BIF's Pioneer Award. The award honors those who have had a major role in acceptance of performance reporting and documentation as the primary means to make genetic change in beef cattle.

Brian McCulloh of Wisconsin, Tom Field of Colorado, Larry Olson of South Carolina and Stephen Hammack of Texas were honored with the Continuing Service Award.

BEEF magazine's Burt Rutherford was presented the BIF Ambassador Award for his efforts in spreading news of BIF and its principles to a larger audience.

Maddux Cattle Co., Wauneta, Neb., was named Commercial Producer of the Year and V8 Ranch of Boling, Texas, was named Seedstock Producer of the Year. We carried short bios of the nominees for these two awards in the May Angus Journal.

Each year since 1994, two graduate students have been recognized with Frank Baker Scholarship awards for their winning essays. Kristina Weber, a doctoral candidate in animal biology studying under Alison Van Eenennaam at the University of California—Davis, and Jeremy Howard, a graduate student at the University of Nebraska—Lincoln studying under Matthew Spangler, won this award.

Since 2010, BIF has annually recognized two students who have made a significant commitment and shown passion for the industry with scholarships. This year's Roy A. Wallace Memorial Scholarship winners were Natalie Laubner, Kansas State University, and Ky Pohler, University of Missouri.

Writeups on the winners, as well as honor rolls of past winners, are available on the Awards page at www.bifconference.com/bif2012/awards.html.

Leadership for coming year

Several Angus members and staff were also elected to BIF leadership. The board of directors consists of:

- ▶ officers: Mark Cowan, Texas, president; Steve Whitmire, North Carolina, vice president; Joe Cassady, North Carolina, executive director; Twig Marston, Nebraska, historian;
- ▶ regional secretaries: Mark Enns, Colorado; Jane Parish, Mississippi; Bob Weaber, Kansas;
- ▶ breed association representatives: Larry Keenan, Red Angus; Sally Northcutt, Angus; Chris Shivers, Brahman; Robert Williams, Charolais; Susan Willmon, Gelbvieh;
- ▶ producer representatives: Craig Beiber, South Dakota; Donnell Brown, Texas; Joe Hampton, North Carolina; Barry Horsley, Oklahoma; Steve Munger, South Dakota; Marty Ropp, Illinois;
- ▶ other representation: Larry Mehlhoff, Montana, past president; John Paterson, National Cattlemen's Beef Association; Doug Frank, National Association of Animal Breeders; Byron Templeton, Canadian Beef Breeds Council; Mike Tess, USDA Extension; and Mark Thallman, USDA Ag Research.

Program highlights

The BIF symposium program always features cutting-edge research affecting genetic improvement of beef cattle. We'll feature some coverage in upcoming months, but online coverage is available in the Newsroom at www.bifconference.com/bif2012/newsroom.html. There you will find summaries, proceedings, PowerPoints and supporting materials provided by the authors for most of the sessions. In the coming weeks, we'll also post some video interviews, and audio of the sessions courtesy of site sponsor LiveAuctions.tv.

E-MAIL: shermel@angusjournal.com

ANGUS PRODUCTIONS INC.

3201 Frederick Ave., Saint Joseph, MO 64506; 1-800-821-5478; fax: 816-233-6575; office hours: (M-F) 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. (Central) home page: **www.angusjournal.com**

Staff are listed by name, phone extension and e-mail prefix. All direct phone numbers are "816-383-5..."; all e-mail addresses are "...@angusjournal.com"

General manager — Terry Cotton, 214, tcotton

Editorial Department — Editor, Shauna Rose Hermel, 270, shermel ■ Associate editor, Kasey Miller, 277, kaseymiller ■ Assistant editor, Linda Robbins, 245, Irobbins ■ Intern, Kelli Fulkerson ■ Artists, Mary Black & Craig Simmons

Field editors — Barb Baylor Anderson, 305 Valley View Dr., Edwardsville, IL 62025, 618-656-0870, anderagcom@sbcglobal.net ■ Kindra Gordon, 11734 Weisman Rd., Whitewood, SD 57793, 605-722-7699, kindras@gordonresources.com ■ Becky Mills, Rt. 1, Box 414, Cuthbert, GA 31740, 229-732-6748, beckymills81@yahoo.com ■ Troy Smith, 44431 Sargent River Rd., Sargent, NE 68874, 308-527-3483, wordsmith@nctc.net Publications and Production — Manager, LaVera Spire, 220, Ispire

Advertising Department — Advertising coordinators, *Doneta Brown*, 232, dbrown; *Karri Mildenberger*, 289, kmildenberger; & *Sara Reardon*, 212, sreardon ■ Production coordinator, *Carol Beckett*, 203, 226, cbeckett ■ Advertising artists, *Mike Bush* & *Monica Ford* ■ Proofreader coordinator, *lacque McGinness*

Circulation & billing manager — LaVera Spire, 220, Ispire

Special Services Department — Coordinator, Sharon Mayes, 221, smayes

■ Assistants, Julie Tyliski & Vickie Whitsell ■ Artist, Susan Bomar ■

Proofreader, Melinda Cordell

Web Services Department — Web Services coordinators, *Doneta Brown*, 232, dbrown; *Sara Reardon*, 212, sreardon; & *Karri Mildenberger*, 289, kmildenberger ■ Web developers, *Tim Blumer* & *Thuy Copeland* Photo Department — Photo services coordinator, *Kathrin Gresham* ■ Photo services assistant, *Colette Weipert*

Network systems coordinator — Bruce Buntin

Board of Directors — Phil Trowbridge, chairman; Bryce Schumann, vice

chairman; Terry Cotton, president; Richard Wilson, secretary-treasurer; Charlie Boyd II; Vaughn Meyer; Jim Rentz; Chris Sankey; Darrell Silveira; and Gordon Stucky

