Gateway to the Gold

Angus Media team brings 37 awards home to Saint Joe from Saint Louis.

Members of the Angus Media team had full hands and full hearts as they proudly carried home awards from this year's Agricultural Media Summit (AMS), hosted July 23-27 in Saint Louis, Mo. The Gateway to the West became the Gateway to a Whole Lot of Wins for Angus Media, with help from the Angus Journal, Angus Beef Bulletin, Angus Beef Bulletin EXTRA, American Angus Association and Certified Angus Beef LLC (CAB), as the team carried home an impressive 37 awards from the 18th annual event, themed "AMS at the Arch." This year, the convention played host to a recordbreaking 630 registered attendees.

The groups brought in 32 awards from the Livestock Publications Council (LPC) and five awards from the American Agricultural Editors Association (AAEA). Communications intern JD Rosman was a recipient of the 2016 AAEA/Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow (ACT) Past Presidents' Scholarship. Sarah Hill, Angus Media projects editor, achieved Level One Master Writer status from AAEA.

by Shelby Mettlen, assistant editor

Larry Corah, formerly with CAB and Kansas State University, received the LPC Headliner award. LPC's Headliner Award Program, introduced in 1980, pays tribute to an individual for meritorious service to the livestock industry.

Joe Roybal, former editor of *BEEF* magazine, was the 2016 LPC Hall of Fame inductee. Roybal is also a past board member and president of LPC.

A complete list of awards taken home by Angus Media writers and designers follows.

First-place awards LPC:

- Newsletter: Angus Journal, Directions; Craig Simmons, designer; Kasey Brown, editor; materials provided by the National Junior Angus Board and Jaclyn Clark.
- ► National Show Coverage: Angus Journal;

The Angus Report



National Junior Angus Show; Artists: Mary Black and Craig Simmons; Writers/ photographers: Angus Media communications team.

- ► Association Producer/Farm/Ranch Profile: *Angus Journal*; "The Road Less Traveled" by Jena McRell
- ► Non-Association Production/ Management Article: *Angus Journal*; "Help From a Friend" by Joann Pipkin/Show Me Agri-Comm
- ► Non-Association Technical Article: Certified Angus Beef LLC for *Angus Journal*; "Quality Builds Future for Beef" by Steve Suther
- ► News Story: *Angus Journal*; "Global Food Security" by Kasey Brown
- Annual Reports: American Angus Association; Jena McRell and Leann Schleicher
 - Single Blog Post: Cactus Flower Communications for Black Ink with CAB; Katrina Huffstutler
 - ► Blog Series: Certified Angus Beef LLC; Steve Suther, Miranda Reiman, Laura Conaway, Katrina Huffstutler and Jenny Keyes
 - ► Best Overall Blog: Certified Angus Beef LLC; Steve Suther, Miranda Reiman, Laura Conaway and Katrina Huffstutler

AAEA:

- ► Websites: Angus Media, Angus Media Website, *www.angus.media*
- ► Multimedia Story: Angus Media, *I Am Angus* Dec. 28, 2015, episode; Crystal Albers, Josh Comninellis and Eric Grant

Second-place awards LPC:

- ► In-depth Reporting (single article): Angus Journal; "Regulating GMOs" by Paige Nelson
- ► Single Photo or Graphic Illustrating an Article: *Angus Journal*; "Changes Ahead;" Craig Simmons, artist

- Association Marketing Article: Angus Journal; "Technology-Driven Seedstock Marketing" by Joann Pipkin/Show Me Agri-Comm
- ► Association Technical Article: *Angus Beef Bulletin*; "EPDs: Back to Basics" by Kasey Brown
- Non-Association Technical Article: Certified Angus Beef LLC for *Beef Vet*; "Help Them Plan Their Way Out of Trouble" by Miranda Reiman
- ► Single Blog Post: Certified Angus Beef LLC; Miranda Reiman
- Blog Series: Certified Angus Beef LLC; Steve Suther, Miranda Reiman, Laura Conaway

Third-place awards LPC:

- Association Production/Management Article: Angus Journal; "Forage Quality" by
- Joann Pipkin/Show Me Agri-Comm Association — Marketing Article: Angus
- *Journal*; "Natural Beef" by Raney Lavorn ▶ Regular Column: *Angus Journal*; "Angus
- Stakes" by Shauna Rose Hermel ► Multiple-page Livestock Ad: American Angus Association; "The Choice is Simple" breed advertisement
- ► E-Newsletter Daily/Weekly: Angus Journal; AJ Daily Nov. 30, 2015

Honorable mentions

LPC:

- National Show Coverage: Angus Journal, National Western Stock Show; Mary Black, designer; Writers/photographers: Angus Media communications team.
- ► Association Technical Article: *Angus Journal*; "Print Marketing" by Kasey Brown
- Association Feature/Human Interest Story: Angus Journal; "Second Chances" by Nicole Lane
- Association Feature/Human Interest Story: Angus Journal; "Up from the Ashes" by Kasey Brown
- ► News Story: Angus Journal; "Cattle Theft"

by Joann Pipkin/Show Me Agri-Comm

- Non-Association Producer/Farm/Ranch Profile: Certified Angus Beef LLC;
 "Trowbridge Angus Farm" by Miranda Reiman
- ► In-depth Reporting (multiple articles): *Angus Journal*; Applied Reproductive Strategies; Troy Smith and Kasey Brown
- ► Commentary of Essay Article: *Angus Journal*; "Nipping at our heels" by Eric Grant
- ► E-Newsletter Monthly: Angus Beef Bulletin EXTRA
- ► Single Blog Post: Certified Angus Beef LLC; Laura Conaway

Other awards: AAEA:

- ► 2016 AAEA/ACT Past Presidents' Scholarship Recipient: JD Rosman, Angus Media 2016 intern, Oklahoma State University
- ► 2016 Master Writer Program Level One: Sarah Hill, Angus Media projects editor
- ► 2016 International Federation of Agricultural Journalists stipend: Sarah Hill.

Aj



► Former BEEF Editor Joe Roybal (right) receives LPC Hall of Fame honors from Greg Henderson of Beef Today.



► Kenna Rathai (right) receives the Ed Bible Distinguished Service Award from LPC President Angie Denton.



▶ Officers and directors, including CAB's Miranda Reiman, were elected to serve LPC.



► Larry Corah (right), former CAB vice president, received the LPC Headliner Award. Also pictured are (from left) Reiman and Steve Suther, both with CAB.



► This year's Forrest Bassford Award finalists include (from left) Audrey Green, Kansas State University; winner Nora Faris, University of Missouri (receiving award from Ann Hess of Alltech); Chamonix Mejia, Texas Tech University; and Tim Taylor, Oklahoma State University.