# Agricultural Media Summit

Angus publications and media honored in Fort Worth, Texas.

Angus Productions Inc. (API) Editorial, Advertising, Web Services and Special Services departments and Creative Media, as well as Certified Angus Beef LLC (CAB), received honors in several professional competitions at the Agricultural Media Summit (AMS) Aug. 1-5 at the Worthington Renaissance Hotel in Fort Worth, Texas.

The AMS is a joint meeting of the Livestock Publications Council (LPC), American Business Media (ABM) Agri-Council and the American Agricultural Editors' Association (AAEA), and features the annual meeting of the Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow (ACT). This year, AMS played host to the Congress for the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) as they met July 31-Aug, 4.

Event highlights included professional development seminars, a trade show, individual award ceremonies and receptions, and tours before and after the meetings.

# **Award winners**

In the LPC Critique Contest, API brought home three first-place awards, as well as four second-place finishes and six honorable mentions. CAB also did well, earning a firstplace, a second-place and two honorable mentions in four categories (see Table 1 for complete results).

Crystal Young received third place and Eric Grant took first place in the LPC "Best of the Bunch" photo contest, with Grant winning overall Photo of the Year.

In the AAEA Awards Contest, Crystal Albers placed third in the Issues Category with her story on Plum Island. She placed first in the Human Interest division with her story "Scars of Strength," a feature on Kristi Ruth of Iowa. "Scars of Strength" won Story of the Year, and Albers reached Master Writer Level V.

In AAEA's design competition, Craig Simmons took first place in Web Design/ Electronic Newsletter or Magazine with the *Angus Beef Bulletin Extra*. Mary Black tied for first place in Special Publication Design Commercial/Custom for the 2008 American Angus Association Annual Report.

Whitney Wallace, University of Missouri (MU), was named the recipient of the Forrest Bassford Student Award, a \$2,000 scholarship based on a written application and onsite interviews. The winners of the travel awards were Rachel Duff, MU; Katherine Kuykendall, Purdue University; and Julie White, Kansas State University (K-State).

## by Linda Robbins

AAEA/ACT scholarship recipients were Gretchen Ettredge and Jeralyn Stephens, both students at Tarleton State University, and Julie White, K-State. Rachel Duff, MU, received a Memorial Scholarship that was given this year in memory of Ken Gardner and Jan Johnston.

# **Industry icons honored**

The LPC Headliner Award honors a person from outside the livestock publishing field for actions that produce a positive change in livestock production and marketing. This year's recipient of the Headliner Award is Temple Grandin.

Honored with the LPC Distinguished Service Award was Rebecca Terry of Showboat Graphics, Winchester, Kan. She has been a longtime member of the LPC Board and AMS Program Committee chairperson,

# Table 1: Angus winnings fromLivestock Publications CouncilCritique Contest

### **Electronic Publishing**

HM Electronic Newsletter, Angus Beef Bulletin Extra, by Craig Simmons, Crystal Albers and Shauna Hermel

#### **Visual Division**

HM Single Photo Illustrating an Article, "Staying the Course," by Steve Suther, CAB

#### Feature Articles — Association

- 1st Marketing Article, "What's Driving Female Prices," by Troy Smith
- 2nd Feature/Human Interest Story, "Scars of Strength," by Crystal Albers
- 2nd Instructional Story, "Best Beginnings," by Barb Baylor Anderson
- HM Production/Management Article, "Planning for a Wreck," by Kindra Gordon

# Feature Articles — Non-Association

- 2nd Production/Farm/Ranch Profile, "The Next Level," by Steve Suther, CAB
- HM Production/Management Article, "Heading in the Right Direction," by Miranda Reiman, CAB

#### Association and Non-Association Combined Categories

- 1st Commentary or Essay Article, "Proving Beef's Worth," by Miranda Reiman, CAB
- 1st Miscellaneous Writing, "The Green Age," by Crystal Albers

#### **Design Division**

- 1st Advertising Media Kit, "API Media Kit – Reach Out," by Bradley Redmond
- 2nd Four-color, Full-Page Ad for a Ranch or Farm, "Titlelist – The Professional's

and has served on the LPC Gala Committee since its inception.

AAEA Lifetime Achievement awards were given to Betty Lou Denton, the late *Kansas Farmer* editor and first female president of the organization; Bill Fleming, the former writer and photographer for the Webb Publishing and Intertec Publishing companies; and Jim Lilly, the late editor of *Prairie Farmer*, and longtime secretarytreasurer and president of AAEA.

The AAEA Distinguished Service Award went to Max Rothschild, C.F. Curtiss distinguished professor in agriculture and life sciences and director of the Center for Integrated Animal Genomics at Iowa State University. The Andy Markwart Horizon Award was presented to Joy Carter, director of communications for the Georgia Peanut Commission.

# Choice," by Mike Bush

- 2nd Annual Reports, "2008 American Angus Association Annual Report," by Mary Black, Crystal Albers and Editorial staff
- HM Two-color or Three-color, Full-Page Ad for a Livestock Supplier, Service or Association, "National Western Angus Bull Sale," by Monica Ford
- HM Brochures, Flyers, and Direct Mail Pieces, "API Creative Media," by Crystal Young

#### **Web Division**

- HM Breeder Web Site, "Wendling Angus Farm," by Tim Blumer
- HM Breeder Web Site, "Archer Angus," by Tim Blumer

#### Angus winnings from American Agricultural Editors' Association

#### **Writing Division**

- Story of the Year "Scars of Strength," by Crystal Albers
- 1st Human Interest, "Scars of Strength," by Crystal Albers
- 3rd Issues, "Plum Island," by Crystal Albers

# **Design Division**

- 1st Web Design- Electronic Newsletter/ Magazine, "Angus Beef Bulletin Extra," by Craig Simmons
- 1st Special Publication Design, "2008 American Angus Association Annual Report," by Mary Black

#### Angus winnings from LPC Paul Andre "Best of the Bunch" Photo Contest

- 1st Eric Grant
- 3rd Crystal Young