

Junior Angus members elect national officers and directors.

by Shelia Stannard

unior Angus members from across the nation gathered in Milwaukee, Wis., July 8-13 to attend the annual meeting of the National Junior Angus Association (NJAA). The meeting was conducted in conjunction with the 2002 National Junior Angus Show (NJAS).

Voting delegates elected six new directors to the NJAA Board, and new officers were announced at the awards ceremony, Friday, July 12. The directors elected to officer positions are beginning the second year of their two-year term.

Mercedes Danekas, Wilton, Calif., will lead the organization as chairman of the NJAA Board. Lana Myers, Jennings, La., will serve as vice chairman.

Brian Howell, Union City, Ind., is the communications

director; and Brandon Walker, Lexington, Ga., was elected Foundation director.

Lacey Robinson, Montgomery City, Mo., was chosen as leadership director. John McCurry, Burrton, Kan., will serve as membership director.

New Board members

Candidates from eight states ran for the six open positions on the Board. Delegates cast ballots for six candidates after each candidate submitted an application, gave an oral presentation and completed roundtable interviews. A brief biography of the newly elected directors follows.

Jennifer Beck, Louisburg, N.C., is the 21-year-old daughter of Dick and Diane Beck. She will be a senior at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is studying political science and public policy analysis. She has been active in the Angus industry her entire life, and she has participated in various shows, contests and leadership conferences across the country.

Hailing from Tanner, W.Va., is **Cortney Collins.** She is the 20-year-old daughter of Rick and Jane Collins, and will be a junior at West Virginia University. Cortney has been involved in numerous junior Angus activities and has held leadership positions, including the offices of president and historian, in the West Virginia Junior Angus Association. She is also on the 2003 Eastern Regional planning committee.

Jamie Hower, Bethlehem, Pa., attends Northampton Community College with plans to receive a veterinary technician degree. She is the 21-year-old daughter of Ned and Linda Hower and has been involved in junior Angus activities at the state and national levels. She has served as president of the Pennsylvania Junior Angus Association for three years.

Jamie King is the daughter of John and Mary Lou King, and is a student at Ohio State University. The 20-year-old from Tiffin, Ohio, is studying animal science and agribusiness. Jamie has participated in Angus activities her entire life and attended her first show when only a week old. She is the current president of the Ohio Junior Angus Association.

Trever Kuipers, Onarga, Ill., is the 20-year-old son of Greg and Kathy Kuipers. He earned an associate's degree from Joliet Junior College and will attend the University of Illinois this fall, pursuing a degree in animal science. Trever is currently president of the Illinois Junior Angus Association and has held several other leadership positions within his state organization.

Amy Wolfrey is the daughter of Dan and Judy Wolfrey, White Post, Va., and will be a junior at Oklahoma State University. The 19-year-old is studying animal science. Amy was an active member of the Maryland Junior Angus Association and has served on the Atlantic National Junior Council. She has also participated in various contests and leadership events at the national level.

The NJAA Board of Directors develops and organizes leadership programs and activities for the 11,000 members of the NJAA. In addition to the NJAS, the American Angus Association sponsors a Leaders Engaged in Angus Development (LEAD) conference, as well as educational opportunities, a national recognition program and several regional and national shows and events. For more information about the NJAA, logon to www.njaa.info.

► Above: Serving on the 2002-2003 National Junior Angus Association Board of Directors are (seated, from left)

Mercedes Danekas, Wilton, Calif., chairman; Lana Myers, Jennings, La., vice chairman; Brian Howell, Union City,
Ind., communications director; Brandon Walker, Lexington, Ga., Foundation director; Lacey Robinson, Montgomery City, Mo., leadership director; and John McCurry, Burrton, Kan., membership director. New directors selected to serve two-year terms are (standing, from left) Trever Kuipers, Onarga, Ill.; Jennifer Beck, Louisburg,
N.C.; Jamie King, Tiffin, Ohio; Amy Wolfrey, White Post, Va.; Jamie Hower, Bethlehem, Pa.; and Cortney Collins,
Tanner, W.Va.