► IN THE NEWS

Robert "Bob" Funk, owner of Express Ranches, Yukon, Okla., and founder and chief executive officer (CEO) of Express Personnel Services, is appointed to the Federal Reserve Board's Executive Committee of the Conference of Chairmen. The chairmen represent each of the 12 Federal Reserve Bank districts; Funk will represent the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City (Mo.), which serves the 10th Federal Reserve District. The 10th district includes Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Wyoming, northern New Mexico and the western third of Missouri.

ABS Global promotes **Sandra Utter** to district sales manager. In her new position, Utter will oversee western Kansas and additional independent sales representatives from southeastern Colorado. She will also continue to be involved in the company's supply chain development.

ANGUS ARRIVALS

R.D. and **Shelie Laflin,** Olsburg, Kan., announce the birth of their twin sons, **Colt Dudley** and **Augustus "Gus" Robert,** born Dec. 19, 2005. Colt weighed 4 lb., 13 oz., and was 17 in. long. Gus weighed 6 lb. and was 18½ in. long.

Grandparents include Barbara Laflin of Laflin Ranch, Olsburg, and Monty and Sharon Sandberg of Harrisburg, Neb.

■ INDUSTRY EXTRAS

Ron Estes, Atchison, Kan., will serve as 2006 president of the Kansas Livestock Association (KLA). Estes owns and operates Estes Cattle Co., a cow-calf, backgrounding, cattle feeding and farming operation, and coowns an auction company.

David Cross, Lewis, Kan., will serve as KLA president-elect in 2006. Cross is a partner in a cow-calf and stocker venture.

David McElhaney is now Allflex USA's northeast regional manager. Based in Hookstown, Pa., he will lead all sales and marketing activities for the Northeast region.

Tom Worley is now director of the Ohio State University South Centers at Piketon. Worley has served as interim director since January 2005 and will continue to lead the centers' research, outreach and economic development efforts.

Holly Branecky, Texas, and Stacy Loutzenhiser, Colorado, will join Tracey Orsburn as Beefmobile Wranglers. The Beefmobile program was launched on behalf of the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board (CBB) in 2004 and is meant to spread the word about beef and the beef checkoff to producers and consumers. The three will accompany two eye-catching vans traveling the country in 2006.

2005 North Dakota Angus Ass'n Annual Meeting & Banquet, Mandan, Nov. 18



Elected to serve on the North Dakota Angus Ass'n board of directors are (front row, from left) **Robert White**, Bowman, immediate past president; **David Opp**, Hebron; **Chad Ellingson**, Saint Anthony, vice president; **Charles Tastad**, Rolette, president; **Debra Hatlewick**, Jamestown; **Kardell Blake**, Egeland; **Brad Tokach**, Saint Anthony; (heal your from left) India Ellingson, Saint Anthony; Poten Boat, Westerd City, Tarm Control Real.

(back row, from left) Julie Ellingson, Saint Anthony; Peter Best, Watford City; Terry Carter, Rocklake; Keith Medalen, Towner; Aaron Strommen, Taylor; Jeremy Erdmann, Lisbon; Berent Thompson, Kintyre; and Keith Cavett, Nome.



► Clifford Enockson (right), Bismarck, is the 2005 Man of the Year. Gerry Enockson is also pictured.



▶Ben Eide Jr. (right), Bowden, is the Commercial Man of the Year. Linda Eide is also pictured.



► Frank Matejcek (left), Grand Forks, receives the President's Award from past president Robert White.



► Vollmer Angus Ranch, Wing, is named Breeder of the Year. Pictured are (front row, from left) Tamra Vollmer-Heins, Sara Vollmer, (back row, from left) Tony Heins, and Allen and Troy Vollmer.



► McCumber Angus Ranch, Rolette, donated the 2005 North Dakota foundation heifer, and the Steven Gilje family, Rolette, purchased the heifer. Pictured are (front row, from left) Gail and Cynthia Tastad; Jo, Sonja and James Gilje; (back row, from left) Charles and Matthew Tastad; and Steven Gilje.

Gary Schulz resigned from his position as general manager of the International Agri-Center to pursue other business interests. **Jerry Sinift** is now interim general manager of the International Agri-Center. Sinift most recently served as assistant general manager and facilities director.

James Andrew is now administrator of U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Rural Development's Rural Utilities Service. Andrew will administer Rural Development's electric, telecommunications and water programs.

Charles Christopherson is now USDA's

chief financial officer (CFO). Christopherson will oversee the financial leadership of USDA, with more than \$128 billion in assets and \$77 billion in total annual spending.

Jackie Gleason is now associate administrator of USDA Rural Development's Rural Housing Programs. As associate administrator, Gleason will assist Housing Administrator Russell Davis in managing more than 20 programs and support functions.

Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns announces four Agricultural Research Service (ARS) scientists chosen for the ARS Science Hall of Fame. The inductees include veterinary medical officer **Charles Beard**, microbiologist **Nelson Cox**, chemist **Sigmund Schwimmer** and plant scientist **Tien Tso.**

The scientists have made important research contributions in plant physiology and phytochemistry, enzymology, food science, and poultry health.

Six new members appointed to the National Organic Standards Board (NOSB) include **Joseph Smillie**, certifier member;

CONTINUED ON PAGE 56

■ NEWSMAKERS

CONTINUED FROM PAGE 55

Daniel Giacomini, Jennifer Hall and **Katrina Heinze,** consumer/public interest members; and **Kevin Engelbert** and **Jeffrey Moyer,** producer members. The appointees were to begin their terms Jan. 24, 2006, ending Jan. 24, 2011.

Secretary Johanns announces the appointment of 20 members to the Advisory Committee on Beginning Farmers and Ranchers.

Committee members are Javannah Hill-Moore, Ridgeland, Miss.; Ray Ellenberger, Belleville, Wis.; Marian Beethe, Tecumseh, Neb.; Jeffrey Ward, Windsor Heights, Iowa; Terry Barta, Smith Center, Kan.; Todd Lang, Strasburg, N.D.; Traci Bruckner, Osmond, Neb.; Catherine Twohig, Montevideo, Minn.; Ray Mobley, Tallahassee, Fla.; Mary Peabody, Burlington, Vt.; Janie Hipp, Fayetteville, Ark.; Richard Cates Jr., Spring Green, Wis.; John Hays, Alexandria, Va.; Omar Garza, Santa Elena, Texas; Linda Prentiss, Camp Nelson, Calif.; Trenton McKnight, Throckmorton, Texas; Marion Bowlan, Manheim, Pa.; Maria Moreira, Lancaster, Mass.; Timothy Harlow, Mylo, N.D.; and Lisa Koester, Wadesville, Ind.

2005 Western Montana Angus Ass'n Annual Meeting, Dec. 6

► Elected to serve on the 2006 Western Montana Angus Ass'n board of directors are (seated, from left) Ron Skinner, Hall, vice president; Kris Reddin, Darby, secretary-treasurer; Larry Trexter, Hamilton, president; (standing, from left) Larry Coleman, Charlo; John Dalbey, Hamilton; and Sean Christensen, Hot Springs.



william Smith is the new Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) assistant administrator for the office of Program Evaluation, Enforcement and Review (OPEER). Kenneth Petersen is FSIS assistant administrator for the Office of Field Operations (OFO). Jane Roth keeps her post as deputy assistant administrator for OPEER, and Judy Riggins is promoted to deputy assistant administrator for OFO.

Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. announces that it signed a letter of intent to purchase Crop1 Insurance, a Des Moines, Iowa-based company. According to Farm

Bureau, Crop1 Insurance will operate as a wholly-owned subsidiary of Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co., beginning in time for the 2006 crop year.

TraceTracker Inc. and **XSInc.** announce a technology and marketing partnership for traceability of agricultural commodities. TraceTracker's traceability software and XS' sale data collection capabilities will be combined. While initial pilot projects will focus on production crops, the system will adapt to animal systems, according to TraceTracker.

Αį