living the  ${\it Dream}$  in 2018

## Advisors of the Year

Recognized for their dedication to the members of the National Junior Angus Association, Aaron and Sue Schafer were honored as the 2018 Advisors of the Year for their work with the Illinois Junior Angus Association.

by Chloé Fowler, Angus communications

Their passionate, selfless and<br/>accountable attitude toward juniorScaccountable attitude toward junior"Smembers makes Aaron and SueofSchafer, Owaneco, Ill., deserving<br/>recipients of National Junior AngusinAssociation (NJAA) Advisors of thefor

The couple has created a legacy within the breed, sharing their knowledge with youth and spending countless hours ensuring the success of events and the Illinois Junior Angus Association.

"We are fortunate enough in our breed association to have many adult leaders who unselfishly give out their time to benefit and guide our youth," says Jeff Dameron, a friend of the Schafers and fellow Angus breeder. "Sue and Aaron are a great example of this."

By sharing their own background in the cattle industry, Sue and Aaron focus on encouraging junior members to improve their communication and presentation skills. Leadership within the association, breed and industry are key ideals the Schafers use to ensure juniors' success. The NJAA is proud to recognize Aaron and Sue for their hard work, dedication and knowledgeable contributions to this breed and its youth.

"It was a total surprise to receive this award," Sue says. "Without the help of our other advisors, Theresa Miller and Trevor Cooper, we would not have the success we do today."

Sue says receiving the title at the 50th anniversary of the National Junior Angus Show (NJAS) makes it even more memorable.

"There is so much history [with the NJAS], and I am following in the footsteps of so many, including my mentor Rachel Frost who also won this award, and that, combined with the history, makes it even more special," Sue says.

The NJAA Advisor of the Year Award was introduced in 1980 to recognize the tremendous contributions of junior Angus association advisors. All advisors are eligible for the award.



Pictured from left are Milford Jenkins, Angus Foundation president; Corbin Cowles, National Junior Angus Board (NJAB) Foundation director; Aaron and Sue Schafer, recipients; Maddi Butler, NJAB chairperson; James Coffey, Angus Foundation chairman; and Rod Schoenbine; Angus Foundation director of development.

Year award.