NEWS MAKERS

Compiled by Megan Silveira, assistant editor

Within this "Newsmakers" column we share important news and accomplishments of our members, including state association activities, birth and marriage announcements, and news of Angus members' passing.

Arkansas Angus Ass'n Annual Meeting and Banquet, Feb. 25, Conway



Darrell Tunstill (left), White River Cattle Co., Fayetteville, received the Distinguished Service Award. Also pictured is Sam Haley, Arkansas Angus Ass'n president, presenting.



Bob and Kim Thornton, Kimbob Farm, Ward, received the Distinguished Service Award. Pictured (from left) are Kim and Bob Thorton, recipients, and Sam Haley, presenting.



Maybelle Castera, Romance, received the Presidential Special Recognition award. Pictured (from left) are Darrell Tunstill; Maybelle Castera, recipient; and Sam Haley, presenting.



Tyler Copeland (left), Copeland Angus Ranch, Paragould, consigned the top cow-calf pair at the Sharing the Success Sale. Also pictured is Sam Haley, presenting.



Tommy and Pam Jumper, Rock Creek Angus, Paragould, hosted the Angus Field Day and received the Dedicated Service Award. Pictured (from left) are Tommy and Pam Jumper, recipients, and Sam Haley, presenting.



Angus producers were selected to serve on the Arkansas Angus Ass'n board of directors. Pictured (from left) are Darrell Tunstill, past president; Sam Haley, Quitman, president; Maybelle Castera, secretary-treasurer; Luke Foster, Paragould, vice president; Dalton Jackson, Glenwood, director; Stacey Speer, Marmaduke, director; and Mark Castera, Romance, director.

Annual Georgia Cattlemen's Convention, March 9, Columbus



Kyle Potts, Potts Brothers Farm, Jefferson, was recognized as Cattleman of the Year. Pictured (from left) are Kyle Potts, Parker Potts, Chelsey Potts, Thomas Potts and Katy Paige Potts.

South Carolina Angus Ass'n Annual Meeting and Banquet, March 17, Clemson



Angus breeders were elected to serve on the South Carolina Board of Directors. Pictured (seated from left) are Hank Sprowl, Greenwood, director; Paige McPhail, Seneca, secretary; Cecil Eaddy, Manning, director; Sally Harrison, Ridge Spring, director; John Garrett (standing from left), Troy, director; John Petty, Blacksburg, director; Lee Clinton, Clover, president; Donnie Watts, Lynchburg, vice president; and John Ripstein, Sumter, director.



The late Cory Watt, Iva, was honored with the 50th Annual Carolina Angus Futurity dedication. Pictured (from left) are Tanner, Cori Grace and Carly Rhodes, accepting; Sally Harrison, presenting; and Rebecca and Jody Watt, accepting.