BOARD ACTION

Highlights from the November Board Meeting

The following is a review of the topics discussed and action taken during the Nov. 4 and 7, 2022, meetings of the American Angus Association Board of Directors in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Topics addressed

Deanna Hofing, American Angus Auxiliary president, gave an overview of the Auxiliary's activities of the past year.

The 2022 annual report and fiscal year (FY) 2022 finances were reviewed. Charles Mogck moved, seconded by Paul Bennett, to accept the report. The motion was unanimously approved.

An update on Angus Genetics Inc. (AGI) functional longevity research was provided. It is expected a research expected progeny difference (EPD) for functional longevity will be released in spring of 2023.

Certified Angus Beef (CAB) hot carcass weight was adjusted Nov. 1, to a maximum of 1,100 pounds (lb.). Staff reported the adjustment has gone smoothly, with licensed partners supportive of the move.

Pursuant to the American Angus Association bylaws, Darrell Stevenson moved, seconded by Barry Pollard, to elect Mark McCully as

2023 Board Meetings

Feb. 21-24 Saint Joseph, Mo.

June 5-8 Blacksburg, Va.

Aug. 28-31 Saint Joseph, Mo.

November 3 Orlando, Fla.

November 6 Orlando, Fla.

CEO and Kenny Miller as assistant secretary for 2023. The motion was unanimously approved.

The 2023 Annual Convention of Delegates will be hosted Nov. 6, 2023, in Orlando, Fla.

Jim Brinkley moved, seconded by Mark Ahearn, to approve the 2023 meeting dates (see sidebar). The motion was unanimously approved.

Angus Foundation

Darrell Stevenson moved, seconded by Greg McCurry, to elect the Board of Directors of the Angus Foundation for 2023 as proposed. The motion passed unanimously.

Mark Ahearn nominated Paul Bennett to serve as chair of the Angus Foundation Board for 2023. The nomination was seconded by Loran Wilson. With no other nominations, Paul Bennett was elected unanimously.

Mark Ahearn moved, seconded by Greg McCurry, to elect additional officers for 2023 as shown below. The motion passed unanimously.

Angus Foundation 2023 Board of Directors

Paul Bennett, chairman
Mark McCully, vice chairman
Jaclyn Boester, executive director
Kenny Miller, secretary
Mark Ahearn
Greg McCurry
Loran Wilson
Darla Eggers, at large

Tom McGinnis, at large Larry Gossen, industry representative

Angus Genetics Inc.

Mark Ahearn moved, seconded by Darrell Stevenson, to elect the Board of Directors of AGI for 2023 as proposed. The motion passed unanimously.

Barry Pollard nominated Smitty Lamb to serve as chair of the 2023 AGI Board. The nomination was seconded by Darrell Stevenson. With no other nominations, Smitty Lamb was elected unanimously.

Darrell Stevenson moved, seconded by Paul Bennett, to elect additional officers for 2023 as shown below. The motion passed unanimously.

AGI 2023 Board of Directors

Smitty Lamb, chairman
Mark McCully, vice chairman
Kelli Retallick-Riley, president
Kenny Miller, secretary-treasurer
Paul Bennett
John Dickinson
Charles Mogck
Barry Pollard
Darrell Stevenson

Angus Productions Inc., d/b/a Angus Media

Industry rep, vacant

Mark Ahearn moved, seconded by Barry Pollard, to elect the Board of Directors of Angus Productions Inc. for 2023 as proposed. The motion passed unanimously.

Jonathan Perry nominated Barry Pollard to serve as chair of the 2023 API Board. The nomination was seconded by John Dickinson. With no other nominations, Barry Pollard was elected unanimously.

Darrell Stevenson moved, seconded by John Dickinson, to elect additional officers for 2023 as shown below. The motion passed unanimously.

Angus Productions Inc. 2023 Board of Directors

Barry Pollard, chairman Mark McCully, vice chairman Kenny Miller, interim president, secretary-treasurer John Dickinson Greg McCurry Jonathan Perry Darrell Stevenson Jerry Theis Darius Lane, industry representative

Certified Angus Beef LLC

Mark Ahearn moved, seconded by Darrell Stevenson, to elect the Board of Directors of CAB for 2023 as proposed. The motion passed unanimously.

Jonathan Perry nominated Jim Brinkley to serve as chair of the 2023 CAB Board. The nomination was seconded by Smitty Lamb. With no other nominations, Jim Brinkley was elected unanimously.

Charles Mogck moved, seconded by Jonathan Perry, to elect additional officers for 2023 as shown below. The motion passed unanimously.

CAB LLC 2023

Jim Brinkley, chairman Mark McCully, vice chairman John Stika, president Brent Eichar, secretary-treasurer Mark Ahearn Smitty Lamb Charles Mogck Jonathan Perry

Barry Pollard Dwight "Kip" Palmer, industry representative

Standing committees

The following 2023 standing committees and appointments were approved as shown below.

Executive Committee

Chuck Grove, chairman Barry Pollard, vice chairman Jim Brinkley Smitty Lamb Ionathan Perry Mark McCully, CEO, ex officio

Breed Improvement Committee

Charles Mogck, chairman Paul Bennett, vice chair Iim Brinkley Art Butler Smitty Lamb

Commercial Programs Committee

Jim Brinkley, chairman John Dickinson, vice chairman Charles Mogck Darrell Stevenson Roger Wann

Communications and Public Relations Committee

Darrell Stevenson, chairman Greg McCurry, vice chairman Alan Mead **Jerry Theis** Loran Wilson

Events and Education Committee

Mark Ahearn, chairman Greg McCurry, vice chairman John Dickinson Jonathan Perry Henry Smith

Finance and Planning Committee

Jonathan Perry, chairman Jim Brinkley, vice chairman Mark Ahearn Smitty Lamb Barry Pollard

Member Services Committee

John Dickinson, chairman Jerry Theis, vice chairman **Rob Adams** Paul Bennett Loran Wilson

Research Priorities Committee

Barry Pollard, vice president Jonathan Perry, treasurer Smitty Lamb, AGI chairman Jim Brinkley, CAB chairman Paul Bennett, Angus Foundation chairman Kelli Retallick-Riley, AGI president John Stika, CAB president Mark McCully, CEO, ex officio Kenny Miller, CFO Jaclyn Boester, Angus Foundation executive director Joe Cassady, education member Larry Kuehn, industry member

National Cattlemen's Beef Association appointments

Jim Brinkley, NCBA Board representative Paul Bennett, Ag & Food Policy Committee Jerry Theis, Cattle Health & Well-Being Committee Smitty Lamb, Live Cattle Marketing Committee Darrell Stevenson, International Trade Committee

Other Board appointments

Charles Mogck, chaplain Sean Colligan, Stinson Leonard Street LLP, parliamentarian

Board President Chuck Grove appointed a special committee to evaluate registration restrictions regarding hide color and excessive white.

Next regular Board meeting

Feb. 21-24, 2023, Saint Joseph, Mo.