BOARD ACTION

Highlights from the November Board Meeting

The following is a review of the topics discussed and action taken during the Nov. 5 and 8, 2021, meetings of the American Angus Association Board of Directors in Fort Worth, Texas.

Topics addressed

Pam Velisek, American Angus Auxiliary president, gave an overview of the Auxiliary's activities of the past year.

The 2021 Annual Report and fiscal year (FY) 2021 finances were reviewed. Chuck Grove moved, seconded by Barry Pollard, to accept the report. The motion was unanimously approved.

The Member Services Committee met Oct. 28, 2021, via Zoom.

 The gene edit policy was reviewed. Mick Varilek moved, seconded by Richard Dyar, to present a minor revision to the policy to the Association Board for discussion. The motion was unanimously approved.

 Dave Hinman moved, seconded by Mick Varilek, to approve the report of the Member Services Committee. The motion was unanimously approved.

As referred by the Member Services Committee, the Association Board reviewed a revision to the geneediting policy. The revision allows members to initiate the registration process once the gene-edited animals are submitted to the regulatory agency. Darrell Stevenson moved, seconded by Smitty Lamb, to approve the revision. The motion was unanimously approved.

Timeline and subsequent updates to Maternal Weaned Calf Value (\$M) and Combined Value (\$C) were discussed.

The Board considered a letter received regarding member concerns related to the beef-on-dairy industry segment. There will be a focus on increased dialogue regarding this topic.

An update was provided regarding the previously approved purchase by Certified Angus Beef (CAB) LLC of a farm property to expand educational efforts and build on the value of the CAB® Culinary Center.

Meeting dates

Pursuant to the Association's bylaws, Jonathan Perry moved, seconded by Darrell Stevenson, to elect Mark McCully as CEO and Kenny Miller as assistant secretary for 2022. The motion was unanimously approved.

The 2022 Annual Convention of Delegates will be hosted Nov. 7, 2022, in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Jim Brinkley moved, seconded by Jonathan Perry, to approve the following 2022 meeting dates. The motion was unanimously approved.

7	
Feb. 22-25	Saint Joseph, Mo.
June 6-9	Kansas City, Mo.
Sept. 12-15	Saint Joseph, Mo.
Nov. 4	Salt Lake City, Utah
Nov. 7	Salt Lake City, Utah

gue regarding this ANGUS Foundation

Angus Foundation

Darrell Stevenson moved, seconded by Smitty Lamb, to elect

2022 Board Meetings

Feb 22 - 25 Saint Joseph, MO

June 6 - 9 Kansas City, MO

Sep 12-15 Saint Joseph, MO

November 4 Salt Lake City, UT

November 7 Salt Lake City, UT

the Board of Directors of the Angus Foundation for 2022 as proposed. The motion passed unanimously.

Mark Ahearn nominated Richard Dyar to serve as chair of the Foundation Board for 2022. The nomination was seconded by Loran Wilson. With no other nominations, Richard Dyar was elected unanimously.

Loran Wilson moved, seconded by Mark Ahearn, to elect additional officers for 2022 as shown below. The motion passed unanimously.

Angus Foundation 2022 Board of Directors

Richard Dyar, chairman
Mark McCully, vice chairman
Kenny Miller, secretary
Mark Ahearn
Greg McCurry
Loran B. Wilson
Darla Eggers, at large
Tom McGinnis, at large
Larry Gossen, industry
representative



Angus Genetics Inc.

Chuck Grove moved, seconded by Alan Miller, to elect the Board of Directors of Angus Genetics Inc. for 2022 as proposed. The motion passed unanimously.

Smitty Lamb nominated Alan Miller to serve as chair of the 2022 AGI Board. The nomination was seconded by Jerry Theis. With no other nominations, Alan Miller was elected unanimously.

Paul Bennett moved, seconded by Smitty Lamb, to elect additional officers for 2022 as shown below. The motion passed unanimously.

AGI 2022 Board of Directors

Alan Miller, chairman
Mark McCully, vice chairman
Kelli Retallick, president
Kenny Miller, secretary-treasurer
Paul Bennett
Smitty Lamb
Charles Mogck
Darrell Stevenson
Jerry Theis

Angus Productions Inc. d/b/a Angus Media

Darrell Stevenson moved, seconded by Jonathan Perry, to elect the Board of Directors of Angus Productions Inc. (API) for 2022 as proposed. The motion passed unanimously.

Jonathan Perry nominated Chuck Grove to serve as chair of the 2022 API Board. The nomination was seconded by Darrell Stevenson. With no other nominations, Chuck Grove was elected unanimously.

Jonathan Perry moved, seconded by Smitty Lamb, to elect additional officers for 2022 as shown below. The motion passed unanimously.

API 2022 Board of Directors

Chuck Grove, chairman
Mark McCully, vice chairman
Brett Spader, president
Kenny Miller, secretary treasurer
John Dickinson
Smitty Lamb
Alan Miller
Jonathan Perry
Darrell Stevenson



Certified Angus Beef LLC

Darrell Stevenson moved, seconded by Alan Miller, to elect the Board of Directors of CAB for 2022 as proposed. The motion passed unanimously.

Alan Miller nominated Jonathan Perry to serve as chair of the 2022 CAB Board. The nomination was seconded by Dave Hinman. With no other nominations, Jonathan Perry was elected unanimously.

Jonathan Perry moved, seconded by Richard Dyar, to elect additional officers for 2022 as shown below. The motion passed unanimously.

CAB LLC 2022 Board of Directors

Jonathan Perry, chairman
Mark McCully, vice chairman
John Stika, president
Brent Eichar, secretary-treasurer
Jim Brinkley
Richard Dyar
Dave Hinman
Alan Miller
Barry Pollard
Dwight "Kip" Palmer, industry

Standing Committees

representative

The following 2022 standing committees and appointments were approved as shown below.

Executive Committee

Jerry Connealy, chairman
Chuck Grove, vice chairman
Richard Dyar
Dave Hinman
Alan Miller
Jonathan Perry
Barry Pollard
Mark McCully, CEO, ex officio

Breed Improvement Committee

Smitty Lamb, chairman Alan Miller, vice chairman Paul Bennett Charles Mogck Darrell Stevenson

Commercial Programs Committee

Jim Brinkley, chairman Jonathan Perry, vice chairman John Dickinson Charles Mogck Darrell Stevenson

Communications and Public Relations Committee

Darrell Stevenson, chairman Richard Dyar, vice chairman Mark Ahearn Jim Brinkley Smitty Lamb

Events and Education Committee

Jerry Theis, chairman Smitty Lamb, vice chairman Alan Miller Jonathan Perry Loran B. Wilson

Finance and Planning Committee

Barry Pollard, chairman Dave Hinman, vice chairman Jim Brinkley Alan Miller Jonathan Perry

Member Services Committee

Richard Dyar, chairman Dave Hinman, vice chairman Mark Ahearn Greg McCurry Jerry Theis

Research Priorities Committee

Chuck Grove, chair, vice president Barry Pollard, treasurer Alan Miller, AGI chairman Jonathan Perry, CAB chairman Richard Dyar, Angus Foundation chairman Kelli Retallick, AGI president John Stika, CAB president
Mark McCully, CEO, ex officio
Kenny Miller, CFO
Thomas Marten, Angus
Foundation executive director
Joe Cassady, education member
Larry Kuehn, industry member

National Cattlemen's Beef Association appointments

Alan Miller, NCBA Board
representative
Barry Pollard, Ag & Food Policy
Committee
Jerry Theis, Cattle Health & WellBeing Committee
Jim Brinkley, Live Cattle Marketing
Committee
Mark Ahearn, International Trade
Committee

Other Board appointments

Chaplain Charles Mogck
Parliamentarian Sean Colligan,
Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Chairman Connealy appointed an Electronic Identification (EID) Task Force to explore potential ways to include and promote EID across various programs of the Association. The task force will report back to the full board at the February meeting. Directors assigned to the task force were Alan Miller, chairman; Jim Brinkley; and Jerry Theis.

Next regular Board meeting

Feb. 22-25, 2022, Saint Joseph, Mo. **M**

